Skip to content

Speed Eater

May 19, 2011

Last night, I had one of the best salads that I’ve had in awhile.

Unfortunately, I scarfed it down way too quickly and didn’t have time to really savor it since Michael and I had plans to go out.

It actually felt as though someone was hovering over us with a stopwatch as we ate!

Shot before I remembered to add the onions!

Speedy Salad

(Lightly adapted from Hungry Girl)

Ingredients
3 cups chopped romaine lettuce
1/4 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
1/2 cucumber, chopped
2 Gardein Chicken Tenders (Grilled chicken, eggs, tempeh, tofu, or fish would work too)
1/4 cup chopped red onion
5 black olives, sliced
1/4 cup canned beets, drained and chopped
2 tbsp. canned black beans, drained and rinsed
2 tbsp. canned chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 tbsp. sweet corn kernels, removed from the cob
1 tbsp. nutritional yeast (cheese would work too)
Dash black pepper and sea salt

Place all ingredients in a bowl and toss well to mix. Enjoy! (Makes one serving)

*****

I’ll definitely make this again soon, especially since it is so simple. And next time, I’ll eat it in slow motion.

After we inhaled our dinner, Michael and I headed out to a charity event at Grapevine in Baxter Village.

I usually have a snack an hour or so after dinner, but last night, my snack was sangria. 😉

(Me with Katie)

(Brittney and her husband Greg)


(Jen and Sara)

(Me with Kelly)

It was a very fun night with lots of great people!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to sign off to eat my breakfast… very slowly….

Do you eat quickly or do you savor your meals?  I am trying to be better about putting my fork down between bites and really trying to focus on the meal.  It isn’t always easy though!

Happy Thursday!

(PS- This is the last day to enter my Follow Your Heart Giveaway!)

10 Comments
  1. May 19, 2011 8:16 AM

    Wow that salad looks delicious! Black beans and corn are my two favorite salad ingredients! Looks like ou had lots of fun! I try to savor my food but sometimes find myself eating at light speed!

    • May 19, 2011 10:37 AM

      Black beans and corn go so well together, don’t they? They are two key ingredients when I make Mexican salads. 🙂

  2. May 19, 2011 8:21 AM

    I kind of have the “deer in headlights” look going on in the group shot…lol! I had a great time last night though! That’s my kind of night out 🙂

    • May 19, 2011 10:38 AM

      Well, I look like I’ve had too much wine in that photo. 😉 SO great to see you. I had so much fun!

  3. May 19, 2011 8:27 AM

    I wish I had eaten dinner before I left. I never feel like I had a proper dinner when it consists of a cheese plate and no veggies. It was so good to see you last night and finally meet the husband. 🙂

    • May 19, 2011 10:39 AM

      Well, I am glad that you ordered that cheese plate because I stole some of your olives. 😉 It was so wonderful to see you and to meet Brad! You’re such a cute couple.

  4. May 19, 2011 12:12 PM

    It was so great to finally meet you last night! I loved hearing your stories 😉 We’ll have to get together again soon!

    • May 19, 2011 1:09 PM

      I absolutely LOVED meeting you! You’re just as sweet as I knew you’d be. Let’s definitely get together again soon! 🙂

  5. May 19, 2011 12:33 PM

    I love the blackbean, chickpea, corn combo! Mmmmm!

  6. May 19, 2011 3:01 PM

    Your salad looks absolutely delicious! And I love seeing the pictures of your fun night! 🙂 I am trying to make it a point to eat slowly and savor, but I find myself slipping up! I’m trying to chew each bite at least 11 times, but it doesn’t always work that way. 😉

Comments are closed.

