Skip to content

Dance Party

May 16, 2011

Something about being home by myself makes me want to have a singing and dancing party in my house.

The urge can strike at any moment, and yesterday, it hit me while I was ironing clothes (although for safety reasons, I turned off the iron first).

Like a true fan, I put on some Lionel Richie music and began to sing and dance the afternoon away.

Well, that is until I realized that our windows were open and our neighbors were right outside.

Our neighbors are not the friendliest people on the planet, and I’m pretty sure the way to their hearts isn’t through an off key version of “All Night Long”.

I decided to turn off the music, temporarily put my singing career on hold, and do something else that I do often….

Make a new smoothie.

This combination is one of my very favorites yet!


Cherry Vanilla Smoothie

Ingredients
1/2 cup pitted black cherries
1/2 medium-sized banana
1 tablespoon coconut flakes
1 scoop vanilla protein powder (or 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)
1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 tsp light brown sugar
2 handfuls of fresh spinach
Stevia (optional)
1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum (optional)

Add all ingredients to a mixer and blend until smooth.


Do you see the beautiful bits of cherry in there?

This was delicious.  Purely delicious.  It honestly tasted like a creamy milkshake.  And it was totally worth prematurely ending my solo concert at home.

Be honest, do you ever dance or sing when no one else is home or watching?  I also sing in my car- even if people happen to see.  Life’s too short to care whether or not random people think I’m a crazy person!

I hope that everyone has a great day, and don’t forget to enter my Follow Your Heart giveaway. The winners will be announced on Friday!

5 Comments
  1. May 16, 2011 9:16 AM

    I have been DYING for a smoothie!
    this one sounds PERFECT!
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. May 16, 2011 2:15 PM

    I dance and sing around my room after my runs! I also sing in the car-like it’s a concert in there or something!

  3. May 16, 2011 2:17 PM

    This smoothie looks fantastique! I tried to make a smoothie with fresh cherries last week and it was a smoothie fail (I have lots of those…), so perhaps I’ll have to try your yummy combination!

    And oh, Erin . . . you bet I dance at home when nobody’s watching…and sometimes when Hubby is home watching! I particularly love dancing/singing in the kitchen while I cook and bake! 🙂

  4. Errign permalink
    May 16, 2011 5:48 PM

    I definitely do jam out when no one is home or if I’m on the interstate with no one around 🙂

  5. May 16, 2011 7:45 PM

    I sing in the car a lot, but not so much in the house. 🙂

Comments are closed.

