Skip to content

Asian Flavor

May 14, 2011

I’m a huge fan of stormy weather, especially when it happens during the day.

Don’t get me wrong, I much prefer the sunshine (I’m not a vampire or anything), but when the gloomy weather hits, I embrace it.

There’s nothing like reading a good book* while curled up on the couch in my Slanket.

“Woo to the hoo” for the Slanket!

*I’m currently reading A Friend of the Family by Lauren Grodstein for my blogger book club.

Even more than reading on a rainy day, I love cooking and spending time in the kitchen.  And it just so happened that last night’s dinner required some advanced work, so at about 2 pm, I made some marinade for our chicken.

This meal is perfect for the summer and warmer weather.  You can grill the chicken or bake it, but I prefer to bake it because it keeps the chicken nice and juicy.



Asian Chicken

(Lightly adapted from here)
Ingredients
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
3 garlic cloves, minced
8 (6-ounce) chicken breasts
Cooking spray

Combine first 5 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag; add chicken. Seal and marinate in refrigerator 4 hours, turning occasionally (for extra flavor, marinate overnight).

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Remove chicken from bag, reserving marinade. Place marinade in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil; cook 1 minute.

Place chicken in a baking dish sprayed with cooking spray or olive oil and bake for 20 minutes or until done, turning and basting frequently with the marinade.   Serve over brown rice. 



This meal was delicious served with brown rice, mixed vegetables (easy recipe to be posted soon), and corn on the cob.  The corn was so sweet.  I could have eaten it all over again!

What is your favorite thing to do on a gloomy day?  I also love cleaning (yes, I am weird) and watching movies.

Have a great day!!

(PS- Giveaway coming soon!)

2 Comments
  1. May 14, 2011 11:53 AM

    I love gloomy days every one in a while too! It gives me an excuse to cuddle up and watch movies or read ! 🙂

  2. May 15, 2011 5:53 PM

    you are so adorable in your snuggie!! Love it!!

    We went out to eat but then came home after for snuggle time on the couch!

    Your dinner looks very yummy!

    Glad you guys had a great night! xoxo ❤

Comments are closed.

