Skip to content

Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead

May 10, 2011

Great title for a post, right?

It is also the title of a documentary Michael and I watched the  other night.

As we were clicking through our movie options, the title grabbed our attention, and we just had to read the synopsis to learn what it was about.

100 pounds overweight, loaded up on steroids and suffering from a debilitating autoimmune disease, Joe Cross is at the end of his rope and the end of his hope. In the mirror he saw a 310lb man whose gut was bigger than a beach ball and a path laid out before him that wouldn’t end well- with one foot already in the grave, the other wasn’t far behind. FAT, SICK & NEARLY DEAD is an inspiring film that chronicles Joe’s personal mission to regain his health. With doctors and conventional medicines unable to help long-term, Joe turns to the only option left, the body’s ability to heal itself. He trades in the junk food and hits the road with juicer and generator in tow, vowing only to drink fresh fruit and vegetable juice for the next 60 days. Across 3,000 miles Joe has one goal in mind: To get off his pills and achieve a balanced lifestyle. While talking to more than 500 Americans about food… (Source)

After reading, I immediately knew that this would be my kind of movie.  And I was right!

As Joe toured the country talking to everyday people about their health, it was amazing and sad to see how many of them didn’t make their health a priority.  It was also kind of funny to see their reactions to kale juice.

A large focus of the movie was on juice fasting.  The physical transformation of Joe (and two other people) during and after the juice fasting was incredible.  They went from dull and unhappy looking to completely glowing.  No joke.

As you may know, I have the autoimmune disease Lupus and have managed to control my symptoms through a healthy lifestyle.  It is no wonder that the best part of Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead for me was watching Joe take control of his own autoimmune disease.  Like me, he was able to eliminate the need for all prescription medications by changing his eating habits.

Once the movie was over, I found myself craving juice.  Since then, I have replaced my morning coffee with fresh juice that I make at home using my juicer.

The fact that I took nearly a three hour nap yesterday has caffeine withdrawal written all over it…  But I am willing to give the juicing a try for at least 10 days to see how it makes me feel.

This morning’s juice combo was apple, carrot, and ginger.  My favorite!

For anyone who is interested, you should check out the official Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead website and the Reboot Your Life site as well (especially since it has some great smoothie and juice recipes).  You can also watch the movie online through Amazon.

Have you tried juicing?  Did you find that it gives you more energy?  What are your favorite juice combos? 

Enjoy your day!

10 Comments
  1. May 10, 2011 8:58 AM

    I was diagnosed with thyroid Cancer last October. I too kicked my morning coffee habit and turned to juicing. I make green juice every morning. I encourage you to try it. Also, have you heard of Crazy, Sexy Diet? It’s a fantastic book by Kris Carr and I highly recommend it. It’s all about health. Here’s her website:

    http://crazysexylife.com/

    • May 10, 2011 12:00 PM

      Congrats for making such a great change! I hope that the juice has helped you to feel better. 🙂 I love Kris Carr’s book. I just finished reading it on my Kindle a few weeks ago. She’s such an inspiration.

      • May 11, 2011 9:22 AM

        Great! I am feeling much better. I love my healthy new lifestyle and diet. I am also doing yoga, walking, working less, cutting down on chemicals (cleaning and beauty products). I find your blog inspirational.

  2. thor27 permalink
    May 10, 2011 10:53 AM

    There are many healthy choices and diet plans out there in the world,the roadblock is basically laziness on most peoples parts to do any action to help themselves. Juices are good and essentially the body breaks down foods into juices that are usable to it and uses the fibrous materials and bulk to cleanse itself of impurities purging itself. He did good but
    the body still requires fiber and bulk of natural foods. Good blog !!! Come visit http://thor27.wordpress.com

    • May 10, 2011 12:04 PM

      You’re totally right- our bodies need to chew some real food too. At the end of his fast, Joe switched to a very healthy diet consisting mainly of fruits, vegetables, and nuts. 🙂

  3. May 10, 2011 12:07 PM

    I haven’t tried juciing- I’m a little afraid. I like to think that I enjoy healthy food but sometimes I cringe when I see people making green smoothies. I think I’d make one and hate it? But what I really need is a pro like you to make one for me:)

    • May 11, 2011 7:13 PM

      I’d make a smoothie for you any time! Try this combo for starters: 1 cup spinach, 1 TB nut butter, 1 frozen banana, 3 ice cubes, 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional), and stevia for sweetening. You cannot go wrong with it! 🙂

  4. May 10, 2011 8:59 PM

    I haven’t tried juicing either. I would do it if I knew for sure that it was right for my body. I get a wee confused with the conflicting info/diets out there and people claiming that x diet is the healthiest way to live. That’s why I’m practicing an everything in moderation type of diet for now. At some point, I might venture into even healthier territory…if I can figure out which way to go. I’m just not sure because some people swear by a vegan diet and others swear by paleo. It all gets a little confusing to me.

    Regardless, your juice creation looks super yummy! 🙂

    • May 11, 2011 7:15 PM

      I’d never go on a juice fast. For starters, I don’t need to lose weight and secondly, I like to eat too much! 🙂 I totally agree with your everything in moderation approach. It is what works for me too. I am finding that I look forward to my juice in the morning though. It is so energizing!

Trackbacks

  1. Keeping on the Healthy Path « brandiz2002

Comments are closed.

