Skip to content

Fiesta Time

May 6, 2011

OK, so we didn’t really have a fiesta last night. We stayed in, watched American Idol, and caught up on DVR.

Obviously, we’re big time party animals.

But since I am all about celebrating any holiday in some small way, last night’s dinner at home was in honor of Cinco de Mayo.

When I was menu planning last week, I almost decided to make fajitas (which I still plan to make soon).  However, after reading Angela’s post the other day, I was inspired to make some enchiladas!

Unfortunately, I was not a very good planner and forgot to buy black beans.  Rather than get myself worked up into a panic, I thought fast and used some chicken instead for protein.  And since I had already un-veganized her recipe, I sprinkled Michael’s enchiladas with real cheese (mine were naked).

Aside from the changes above, I made a few other modifications:

We also had chips with salsa and salad.  It was a very yummy and festive dinner!  Unfortunately, the mariachi band that I hired to play during our meal couldn’t make it though. 😉

Did you acknowledge Cinco de Mayo yesterday?  What did you do or eat?

Happy Friday!

6 Comments
  1. May 6, 2011 8:48 AM

    Such a bummer that the mariachi didn’t show… sigh… but at least dinner looks like it was quite the success! 🙂

    • May 6, 2011 4:24 PM

      I’ll tell ya! What a waste of money! 😉 But dinner was definitely delicious.

  2. May 6, 2011 9:07 AM

    We tried to celebrate Cinco de Mayo yesterday. My big idea was to go to a Mexican restaurant. What an orginal idea! There were a gazillion people out, many already drunk. We didn’t want to wait in a line for an hour so we went next door to the Thai place. I had a vegetable soup in a coconut milk and lemongrass broth. Yum. My entre was a fried tofu over a bed of weater cress and broccoli with oewanut sause. Excellent! For dessert: sticky rice with mango. So we celebrated Cinco de Mayo – Thai style. Cinco de Thai-yo! 🙂

    By the way, where did the name of your blog come from?

  3. May 6, 2011 9:08 AM

    oops! typos: that’s watercress and peanut sauce. Sorry! :0

  4. May 6, 2011 10:01 PM

    we DID celebrate – kind of all week! 🙂 last night we had grilled fajita tacos, Monday we had enchiladas!

    I stayed up way past my bedtime to watch (my favorite band!!) Calexico on Jimmy Kimmel last night – and they had the Luz de Luna mariachi band with them – SO good! 🙂

Comments are closed.

