Skip to content

North to South

May 4, 2011

Important: The Grass Skirt has a new blog address (soon to be followed by a new look!).  Please update your bookmarks, Google Reader, and subscriptions accordingly.  The new address is http://thegrassskirtblog.com . Thank you! 

*****

I’ve lived in the south for half a decade now, but I actually grew up in New York and lived in Connecticut for several years as well.

Nothing against the north, but I really don’t miss it.  At all.  Not even a tiny bit.  Ok, I do miss my friends who still live up there (shout out to my lovely bridesmaids Kristen, Michelle, and Jen!).

I also miss the bagels and the pizza. Nothing anywhere can compare.

Otherwise, I feel like I was meant to live down south.  My parents live down here now too (and my sister), and when I go to their house, it feels like I grew up there.  It actually seems more like home than my home in New York.

Not only am I now a southern girl, but I married a southern man (he actually says things like, “Dagnabbit”).

I’m probably never going to get into the appeal of grits, fried chicken, and biscuits, but I do try my best to deliver healthy versions of Michael’s southern favorites, such as chicken tenders and pulled chicken sandwiches (last night’s dinner).

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

(Lightly adapted from Cooking Light)

Ingredients
* 3 tablespoons ketchup
* 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
* 1 tablespoon yellow mustard
* 1 tablespoon molasses
* 3/4 teaspoon chili powder
* 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
* 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
* 12 ounces skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into 2-inch pieces
* 4 (2-ounce) sandwich rolls, cut in half horizontally

Combine first 8 ingredients in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low; cover and cook, stirring occasionally, 23 minutes or until chicken is done and tender. Remove from heat; shred with 2 forks to measure 2 cups meat. Place 1/2 cup chicken on bottom half of each roll. Top each with top half of roll.

I’ve made this half a dozen times now, and it is delicious each and every single time.  There are a lot of recipes for pulled chicken sandwiches, but this one tastes the closest to the real thing.  It even has my southern hubby’s seal of approval.

We have enough for leftovers which is perfect since I have a book club meeting tomorrow night (organized by Miss Healthy Tipping Point herself) and won’t be home until later in the evening.

I have lots on the agenda for today, so I better get my booty in gear.  Have a wonderful day!

8 Comments
  1. Karyl Dunson permalink
    May 4, 2011 8:58 AM

    Thanks for the recipe. I am going to make it for my husband. Although he was born and raised in Indiana, his parents are from Alabama and he went there every summer. You can’t easily separate food from locale. I am basically a midwestern/easterner but I appreciate lots about the South. Love Southern Living magazine.

    Have a great day!

    • May 5, 2011 11:19 AM

      Southern Living is a great magazine. You just reminded me that I need to renew my subscription! 🙂 Have a great day too!

  2. Michelle permalink
    May 4, 2011 2:22 PM

    Shout out back from your lovely bridesmaid 😉 I will say that New York definitely misses you even if the feeling’s not mutual! And even though they’re nowhere near healthy, you should try a bite of some cheesy grits sometime – when Matt and I were down last year, they came with so many meals and have to admit, they were pretty darn good 🙂

    • May 5, 2011 11:20 AM

      I’ve tried grits. I just don’t like the texture! Blech! I’ll be happy to make grits any time though if it will get you and Matt back down here! 🙂

  3. May 4, 2011 2:48 PM

    I’ve never lived in the north, I pretty much spent my whole life in Florida and I feel like I am a southern girl all the way! I don’t have an accent or anything like that but I am the manners:) I find some northern people to be unnecessarily grumpy…

    • May 5, 2011 11:21 AM

      Haha! I totally agree! I am so used to people holding doors open for me now and being polite. It’s a rude awakening when I go anywhere else!

  4. May 5, 2011 8:19 AM

    Now that’s a sandwich!

  5. May 7, 2011 4:38 PM

    Book marked, I really like your site! 🙂

Comments are closed.

