Skip to content

Reader’s Request: More Quinoa Please

May 3, 2011

Recently, a reader requested some more recipes that include quinoa.  Since I’m always happy to eat quinoa, it was a very simple request to fill.

Michael also likes quinoa, which makes me happy.  The first time that I served it to him,  I was afraid that he’d make the same face he made when he first saw me with a plate of kale chips.

(Source)

It was kind of like that.

Although, I do have to say that he is very open-minded to trying new things.  He’ll even eat chia seeds and green smoothies!  Most of the time though, I just turn “normal” dishes into healthier versions.  I don’t introduce too many funky sounding foods at dinner time. 😉

Speaking of funky sounding… I’ve heard a lot of people say that they do not know how to pronounce “quinoa.” Well, there are apparently two ways to pronounce it.  The first option is “kee-NO-wah” and the other is “KEEN-wah.”  I pronounce it the second way.

Anyway, this quinoa dish was very garlicky and flavorful.  Plus, it really didn’t take much time at all to make.  I even had the chance to make some salad and bruschetta to go along with dinner.

Quinoa with Tomatoes and Chickpeas

(Adapted from here)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa (uncooked)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups water
  • 1 cup canned garbanzo beans (chickpeas), drained
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes
  • 1 cup chopped baby bella mushrooms
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • 4 teaspoons Garlic Gold Oil (regular olive oil will work)
  • 1 pinch salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh parsley (from my herb garden!)
  1. Place the quinoa in a fine mesh strainer, and rinse under cold, running water until the water no longer foams. Bring the quinoa, salt, and water to a boil in a saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender, 20 to 25 minutes.
  2. Soften mushrooms in a skillet coated with cooking spray until softened.
  3. Once quinoa is done, stir in the garbanzo beans, tomatoes, garlic, mushrooms, lime juice, and oil.  Heat on medium-low until mixture is warmed through.  Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with chopped fresh parsley to serve.

I made several revisions/additions to the original recipe, including omitting cumin altogether.  Both Michael and I have an aversion to cumin, so whenever a recipe calls for it, I take it out or make a substitution.

For your viewing pleasure, you can find some of my other quinoa recipes here:

Quinoa Breakfast Bowl

Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad

Quinoa and Sweet Potato

Sushi in a Bowl

*****

Is there an ingredient found in many recipes that you dislike?  If so, do you make any substitutions or just avoid those recipes?  How do you say the word “quinoa”?

This morning, I have a call with the designer who is working on my business website and the new blog design.  I’m so excited to reveal it to you all soon!

Have a wonderful day!

13 Comments
  1. Kirsten permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:14 AM

    OMG, I can’t believe you don’t like cumin. I’m not sure that we can be friends anymore! 🙂

    • May 3, 2011 8:16 AM

      Haha! Not only do I dislike it, I’d go so far as to say that I HATE it!! If you still like me after that confession, then we truly are friends. 🙂

  2. May 3, 2011 9:09 AM

    Your business is as a nutritionist, right?

    You mentioned making normal recipes more healthy. Could you share what that means and perhaps start with a normal recipe and show us what you would do as an example? Thanks!

    p.s. Do you like the song Jesus is Love? I love that one too!

    • May 3, 2011 2:21 PM

      Jesus is Love is a great song! It came on the other morning while I was getting dressed. 🙂 Yes, I am a health and wellness consultant. There are lots of lightened up versions of “normal” recipes on my recipes page, such as chicken tenders, chicken cacciatore, chicken marsala, chili, sloppy joes, and meatloaf. I also have another recipe coming up tomorrow as an example. 😉 Basically, I take a typically unhealthy recipe and switch out certain ingredients to make it healthier (i.e., using almond milk instead of cream, whole wheat flour instead of white, egg whites instead of eggs, Earth Balance instead of butter). I’ll even cut down on the oil and sugar some recipes call for and find that it doesn’t affect the taste in any way. 🙂

      • Karyl Dunson permalink
        May 4, 2011 8:56 AM

        Thanks! Once again, love your blog!

  3. May 3, 2011 12:37 PM

    The only thing I’m not a huge fan of are peas. But I usually suck it up and eat them if they’re in a dish because they aren’t too overpowering. I made some quinoa last week, but not you got me wanting to make more!

  4. May 3, 2011 1:22 PM

    I did a whole persuasive presentation on quinoa this semester! I have all the ingredients to make this at home so I’m thinking dinner?

  5. athais permalink
    May 3, 2011 8:27 PM

    I will soon be going back to my vegetarian diet. This looks so good. Thank you for sharing.

  6. May 3, 2011 9:48 PM

    I really hate tarragon. I say quinoa properly outloud and qui-no-a in my head. But I also mispronounce Lululemon las Lu-le-mon in my head among other things.

    • May 5, 2011 11:22 AM

      I pronounce Lululemon the same way in my head too!! I simply am incapable of saying it the right way, and I think they need to officially change their name to Lulemon. 😉

  7. May 4, 2011 3:25 AM

    Looks great! I don’t know if you’ve tried it already, but quinoa also cooks up perfectly in a rice cooker! A rice cooker, a crock pot, and a blender–basically, how I survived college.

    • May 5, 2011 11:23 AM

      Thanks for the tip! I don’t own a rice cooker, but I’ve been looking for an excuse to get one. 😉

Comments are closed.

