Skip to content

Easy (Like Sunday Morning) Banana Bread

May 2, 2011

Since I was easy like Sunday morning yesterday, I made easy banana bread.

What else can you do when you have a fruit basket-filled with overripe bananas?

After grabbing four from the basket, I froze the rest for future smoothie-making and then got to work on the bread!

I actually made two mini loaves.  I figured that we could enjoy one now and I’d refrigerate the other for the Mother’s Day luncheon I’m hosting at our house next Sunday.  Plus, mini loaves are a great way to manage your portions.

Easy (Like Sunday Morning) Banana Bread

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup Earth Balance butter (any butter will work)
3/4 cup light brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
4 medium mashed overripe bananas

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.   In a large bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, cream together Earth Balance and brown sugar. Stir in eggs and mashed bananas until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture (stirring to moisten). Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.  Bake in preheated oven for about 60 minutes (less if you’re using mini loaf pans), until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.



This is so simple yet so good.  You can also add walnuts and/or raisins, but we prefer the bread straight up with no fancy stuff.

Banana bread may not be the healthiest thing in the world, but everything in moderation, right?

Attention Lionel Richie:  If you’re reading this, I’m saving a slice of this bread just for you.   All you have to do is sing one song to me, and it’s yours!

Have a wonderful day, everyone!


5 Comments
  1. May 2, 2011 8:35 AM

    looks DELICIOUS
    xoxo
    bB
    stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. May 2, 2011 8:48 AM

    They are very very peetty loaves, I have some frozen banans in my freezer and I think I know what I’ll be doing with them!

  3. May 2, 2011 9:32 PM

    Looks delicious, I’ll have to try this recipe next time I have a banana surplus…which is rare because our household tends to gobble up bananas pretty quickly! But next time the unthinkable happens, I know what to do! 🙂 That’s so sweet that you’re hosting a mother’s day brunch at the house! I miss living close to family for reasons like that! At t least I just got to see my mum though 🙂 xo

  4. May 3, 2011 6:48 AM

    I totally thought of that song when I read the title too! ha!

    I love your little loaf pans! SO cute! This looks really good, u need some PB smeared on these too!

    How fun you are hosing a luncheon at your house for Mom’s Day : )

    Happy Tuesday love!!!!

    xoxo ❤

Comments are closed.

