Skip to content

Favorite Things (Part 3)

May 1, 2011

Well, it’s that time again…

Time for my favorite things of the moment!

Carrots ‘N’ Cake by Christina Haupert

 This book was written by Tina, the popular blogger who writes Carrots ‘N’ Cake.  It is a quick and easy read (I read it in less than a day), and Tina is easy to relate to, honest, and humorous.  She provides lots of healthy living tips, as well as a bunch of great recipes (including lots of cookie recipes!).

Audrey Style by Pamela Clarke Keough

I’ve been a huge Audrey Hepburn fan for years and years- ever since I first saw her performance in the movie My Fair Lady.  This book details her style, workout, and attitude about food.  What I find most fascinating is that Audrey ate whatever she wanted in moderation and naturally favored healthier foods.  She’d even have a square or two of Dutch chocolate each day, which makes me love her even more!  Not only is this a great read, but it is a beautiful coffee table book as well.

Smooth Operator Micronized Clay Finishing Powder by Tarte Cosmetics

This is by far the best finishing powder I’ve ever used.  It makes my skin so soft and smooth and really minimizes my pores.  I first purchased it as part of my Toss the Junk Project and now cannot image my beauty regime without this stuff.

Trader Joe’s Honey Apple Butter

This is so ridiculously good that I cannot open the jar without eating straight out of it with a spoon.  It tastes amazing on toast or on top of a bagel.  If you live near a Trader Joe’s, pick up a jar ASAP.  They are about $3/each.  I heart Trader Joe’s.

Cashew Cookie Larabars

These bars have been on my favorites list for about 3 years now, and I seriously cannot imagine my life without them.  Really.  If these are ever discontinued, you’ll find me sobbing in a corner in Earth Fare right where they sell the nutrition bars.

Artisana Cacao Bliss

This is raw chocolate coconut butter (aka, heaven in a jar).   It tastes wonderful spread on toast, muffins, bagels, crackers, and in smoothies.  It tastes creamy and decadent, but it contains the antioxidants properties of cacao.  Can’t beat that!

In case you missed them, you can check out Parts I and II of My Favorite Things here and here.

What are YOUR favorite things of the moment?

*****

The weather has been just beautiful here in the Charlotte, North Carolina area, and I’ve been loving every minute of it.  I hope that the weather is fantastic wherever you are too.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

11 Comments
  1. May 1, 2011 12:06 PM

    I love Tina’s blog Carrots and Cake so I’m sure I’ll love her book. I need to get it soon. I’m reading so many great things about it.

    • May 1, 2011 1:10 PM

      It is a very nice quick read. I think you’d enjoy it. 🙂 I read it last Saturday when it was rainy outside. I cannot wait to try her recipes!

  2. May 1, 2011 12:37 PM

    Oooh I love this post! I just ordered Tina’s book and I’m excited that it might be waiting for me when we get back home! The tarte finishing powder looks fabulous, I wonder if they have it at Sephora? I haven’t been wearing powder these days, but it would be nice to have one that you vouch for! And I can’t wait to try the apple butter.

    Again, love this post! Lately I’m loving De Vita natural products, particularly their facial cleanser and SPF 30+ moisturizer. Great products and I think they might have a makeup line coming out soon, too! 🙂

    • May 1, 2011 1:12 PM

      I’ll have to try De Vita natural products! Thanks for telling me about them. 🙂 They do sell Tarte at Sephora! They also have it at Ulta. It literally looks like chalk in the jar, but when you put it on, it is totally sheer. It makes my skin so smooth that I keep wanting to touch my face!

  3. May 1, 2011 2:58 PM

    Ohh TJ’s Apple Butter…intriguing! I’ve never had apple butter but it looks yummy! One of my favorite things right now is not healthy at all…Ben and Jerry’s. They keep intriguing me by coming out with new, limited edition flavors….Right now I have Peanut Butter World and Bonaroo Buzz in my freezer! Luckily I have an ice cream loving boy to share with!

    • May 3, 2011 2:24 PM

      I miss being able to eat Ben and Jerry’s! They need to make lactose-free ice cream. I’d be in heaven!

  4. May 2, 2011 1:50 AM

    I love so many of the things on your list. Audrey’s style, of course, though I haven’t seen the book (yet). TJ’s apple butter! Delish. Cashew Larabars, though coconut creme pie is my favorite! I’m itching to get my hands on the new Blueberry flavor.

    • May 3, 2011 2:26 PM

      The Blueberry Muffin is really good, but it isn’t my favorite. I am not a huge fan of muffins, so maybe that’s why! 😉

  5. Michelle permalink
    May 3, 2011 1:56 PM

    I think I may have found a new perfect snack for you though forgive me if you’ve already mentioned it. I bought some for the first time this weekend and immediately thought of you – Kashi Pumpkin Pecan Bars. DELICIOUS and good for you of course 🙂

    • May 3, 2011 2:27 PM

      I’ll have to pick those up! My body goes into shock when I’m without pumpkin for more than a week. 🙂 We need to catch up soon. I’ve been thinking about you!

  6. Michelle permalink
    May 3, 2011 4:18 PM

    I know, I miss you too!! And I know how much you love pumpkin so I think you’ll really enjoy the bars 🙂

Comments are closed.

