Skip to content

Chatty Cathy

April 30, 2011

My wonderful husband came home from a business trip to Argentina yesterday, and I couldn’t have been happier.  I really missed him!

I’m cool and all, but I talk too much… and I was getting sick of my own company.

You can only ask yourself questions out loud and laugh at your own jokes so many times before you start to wonder if you’re possibly insane.

As soon as poor Michael walked in the door, I chatted his ears off.  Yes, both of them.

Luckily for him, I made up for it by cooking him a nice dinner.

Roasted Balsamic Chicken with Peppers

(Adapted slightly from here)

* 3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
* 3/4 teaspoon fennel seeds, crushed
* 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, divided
* 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
* 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
* 4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breasts
* 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
* Cooking spray
* 3 cups frozen mixed bell peppers, thawed (I used a bag purchased from Trader Joe’s)
* 1/2 cup thinly sliced onion
* 1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh rosemary
* 1 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
* 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 450°.  Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Combine 1/2 teaspoon salt, fennel seeds, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, garlic powder, and oregano. Brush chicken with 1 1/2 teaspoons oil; sprinkle spice rub over chicken. Add 1 1/2 teaspoons oil to pan. Add chicken; cook 3 minutes or until browned. Turn chicken over; cook 1 minute. Arrange chicken in an 11 x 7–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake at 450° for 10 minutes or until done.

Heat remaining olive oil over medium-high heat. Add bell peppers, onion, and rosemary; sauté 3 minutes. Stir in broth, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Reduce heat; simmer 5 minutes. Increase heat to medium-high. Stir in vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; cook 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Serve bell pepper mixture over chicken.


The dish was served with roasted potatoes and salad.

Now I am going upstairs to wake Michael up from his slumber.  I’m starting to get bored of myself again, and Emma isn’t really too conversational this morning.

Do you talk to yourself or your pets when you’re home alone?  Please tell me that I am not alone in this!

Have a great Saturday!

5 Comments
  1. April 30, 2011 8:24 AM

    Haha! U are too cute! I am so glad your husband is back! I am sure you did miss him!

    Hope he had a great trip though!

    I find myself sometimes talking to myself, lol! I am home in the day myself so it happens!

    Happy Saturday!! xoxo ❤

  2. April 30, 2011 2:34 PM

    Yes, I talk to my 2 dogs all the time. They don’t necessarily talk back but they do cock their heads to one side and look at me as if they are listening. It makes me feel better. LOL

  3. April 30, 2011 11:10 PM

    Actually? I don’t talk to myself so much, but my husband does constantly. I finally realized I could leave the room while he was talking to me, take a shower, read an article, put on makeup and get dressed and wouldn’t be missed. I come back and he is still talking!
    It sounds a little sad but this realization… this is going to free up a whole lot of time.

  4. May 1, 2011 1:55 AM

    Yay for your hubby getting home from his trip safe and sound! I totally talk to myself, too! According to my sister, brother, and parents, I’ve always been a BIG talker when they’re around…and sometimes even when they’re not! In fact, I think I frequently annoyed my sister growing up with my talking. Probably still do. When I find myself alone for a stretch of time, I totally talk to myself — especially when I’m in a great mood! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Be inspired by others. « Tips and Tricks for the Everyday Cook

Comments are closed.

