Skip to content

A Breakfast Fit For A Queen

April 29, 2011

The morning is my favorite time of day.  I love when the sunlight peaks through the windows, and I love the possibility of a fresh new beginning.

I’m a total morning person.  I’ve often said that I pop out of bed like a Pop Tart (a healthy one, if there is such a thing).

The morning is also my time to plan out my day, write, catch up on blog reading, enjoy a cup of coffee or tea, and kiss Michael goodbye before he heads off to work.

The morning also brings one of my very favorite things in the world.

Breakfast.

I’m in love with breakfast, so much so that it seriously takes me quite awhile to tick through my options and settle on something.  After all, a good healthy breakfast can set the tone for a healthy day.

This morning, French Toast was the winner.

I love French Toast because it is so simple to make it healthy without sacrificing the delicious taste.

Banana French Toast

Ingredients  (makes 1 serving)
2 slices sprouted whole grain bread
1 tsp banana extract
1 small banana
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 whole egg
2 egg whites
1 tsp maple syrup
Pure maple syrup, to taste (for topping)
Walnuts (optional)

Whisk together egg whites, whole egg, maple syrup, cinnamon, and banana extract and dip both sides of each bread slice into the mixture.  Lightly coat a nonstick skillet with cooking spray and cook until both sides are lightly browned.  Top with banana slices, maple syrup and walnuts.  I also like to use a little Earth Balance for a buttery taste. 

Delicious!

After breakfast, I watched a portion of the Royal Wedding.  I’ve been sick to death of hearing about it, but I have to admit that watching it was kind of awesome.  Kate looked amazingly beautiful, and I love how she was smiling the entire way down the aisle. Prince William looked so happy too!  I had to walk down a really long aisle when I got married, but my goodness!  The two of them probably needed a nap when they got to the end!

What is your favorite breakfast?  Did you watch the Royal Wedding?

OK, back to peasant life.  Lots to do!  Good thing, I’m powered up from breakfast.

Happy Friday!

5 Comments
  1. April 29, 2011 7:56 AM

    My favorite breakfast is banana coconut french toast. It is so good!
    I’m watching the Royal Wedding now… so exciting.

    • April 29, 2011 8:30 AM

      Ooh, I have coconut shreds. I’m adding those next time. The wedding sucked me right in! I still cannot get over her. Stunning!

  2. April 29, 2011 1:53 PM

    My favorite breakfast is pancakes! I woke up my boyfriend this morning while watching the Royal Wedding and he insisted we go to breakfast so I missed the kiss but I watched it on youtube!

  3. April 29, 2011 2:20 PM

    I am totally a morning person as well, although I never was before…

    My favorite breakfast food is waffles with strawberries 🙂

    xo Lynzy
    http://sparklingfootsteps.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.

