Skip to content

Thanks, Mom!

April 27, 2011

Don’t let the title of this post worry you- you haven’t missed Mother’s Day.  😉

****

All day yesterday, I had a headache.

The headache didn’t stop me from shopping and buying myself a new purse, but still…it was pretty bad.

Unfortunately, it only got worse as the day went on, and by dinner time, I was useless.

Thankfully, I had some leftover salad from my mom in the fridge.  All I had to do was broil up some salmon (lightly seasoned with Old Bay) and add it to the mix for a perfectly lovely dinner that didn’t require me to use my hurting head.

Mom’s Salad

Ingredients (for one large salad)
2 cups butter lettuce (any type of salad greens would work)
1/4 cup dried unsweetened cranberries
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup shredded carrot
1/3 cup canned chickpeas (rinsed and dried)
1/3 cup cherry tomatoes
1/2 red onion, sliced
1/2 cup slices strawberries
Balsamic dressing, to taste

Toss all ingredients in a large bowl and serve. 

For all of you lucky ones who can eat dairy, I’d also suggest adding some goat cheese.  Yum!


I love this salad because there are so many little fun things hiding in it.  You never know what the next bite will bring! 

(Stay tuned for an upcoming post about building a better salad.)

After eating, I was able to rest on the couch for the remainder of the evening.  Moms are the best.

What is the best dish that your mother makes? My mom is a great cook, so everything she makes is wonderful.  But since I am making myself choose, I’d have to say that I love her meatballs and pumpkin pie the best.  Her apple pie is pretty killer too.

Once again, moms are the best.

9 Comments
  1. April 27, 2011 12:24 PM

    Yum, the salad looks great! My mom makes some pretty great salads herself, but one of her chicken dishes is my favorite.

    I’m sorry to hear about your headache… I hope you’re feeling better today!

  2. April 27, 2011 1:36 PM

    That looks so yummy! My mom seriously makes the BEST stuff…gahhh. I wish I could re-create some of it but I hardly have the patience. She makes an AWESOME mexican chili with chicken, beans, avocado, onions, etc.. sooo good. -jamie

    p.s. feel better! ive been having bad headaches too, not fun! try coffee or ibuprofen?

  3. April 27, 2011 2:08 PM

    My mom makes amazing Baked Ziti, Hashbrown Casserole, and Pancakes…my family is all about comfort food! It’s where I get my love for food from, although sometimes that can be bad:)

  4. Liz Bannister permalink
    April 27, 2011 2:53 PM

    I’m in the mood for a garden salad now! Mom, makes the meanest Corn-Pie ever! oh so goood:)

    Feel better!

    • April 27, 2011 2:56 PM

      Thanks. 🙂 I’m just resting my head. I’m not sure that I’ve ever had corn pie. It sounds good though! 🙂

  5. April 27, 2011 5:01 PM

    Salad looks delish! My mom makes an amazing apple cake…and come to think of it, I need to find her recipe for it and share it with y’all! I hope you feel better today! xo

  6. April 27, 2011 10:12 PM

    that looks yummmy!! my mom makes killer apple pie too, thats gotta be my favorite:)

  7. April 28, 2011 6:29 AM

    Mom’s leftovers are the best. There are not many things my mom makes that are not great.

Comments are closed.

