Skip to content

Roasted Pepper and Questions Answered

April 23, 2011

Until the other night, I had never made roasted peppers.  They kind of scared me.

However, they were so easy, so flavorful, so moist, so juicy, so good…and I could SO go on and on and on.

But instead, I’ll stop myself here and let the photos speak for themselves.


Roasted Red Pepper with Tomato and Mushrooms

Ingredients (serves 2)
2 red bell peppers (medium)
1-2 cloves garlic, to taste (I use 2 because I like having garlic breath)
1/3 cup chopped baby bella mushrooms
1 large tomato, diced
1/4 cup diced red onion (optional)
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Spray a baking dish with cooking spray.

Cut the peppers in half horizontally (about 1/2 inch below the stem), removing the seeds but leaving the stem. Place the peppers cut side up in the baking dish along with the top of the pepper (stem side up).

Divide the garlic, onion, mushrooms, and tomato evenly among the peppers. Drizzle each with olive oil and add salt and pepper.

Roast the peppers for about 40-50 minutes or until they are tender and beginning to brown around the edges.

I love putting the top of the pepper on top of the other half when serving.  It looks like a little hat.

There’s nothing better than a well accessorized red pepper (you can quote me on that).

*****

I’ve received quite a few really good questions from the wonderful TGS readers lately and thought that I’d address a few of them in a mini Q&A post.

First, I’m going to put on some over-sized sunglasses and borrow someone’s Chihuahua and pretend that I’m famous.  You have to pretend to be a celebrity when you do a Q&A.  It’s the rule.

Well, it is the rule for crazy people who spent their childhood interviewing themselves in their bedroom mirror.

Here it goes!

Q:   Does Michael get jealous when you make good meals when he is not home? 

A:   I asked Michael this question since he was standing nearby, and his response was, “No because I eat very well when I’m home.”  Smart hubby. 😉  Michael does eat very well back at the Turner ranch (we don’t actually live on a ranch, by the way).  If he misses something good while he is away, I always make it again when he is home. I pack his lunches everyday too, but some days, he has lunch meetings and doesn’t need me to pack a lunch for him.  9 times out of 10, he’ll send me an email later in the day to say that my lunches are better.  Again, he’s a smart hubby.

Q:   What are your favorite chick flicks?

A:    This is a VERY difficult question for me to answer.  I love chick flicks!  Please don’t think less of me when I list some of my favorites.  I promise that I like smart people movies too. Here they are:  16 Candles, Never Been Kissed, Legally Blonde, 27 Dresses, Clueless, The Holiday, Love Actually, Sleepless in Seattle, French Kiss, Father of the Bride (I and II), How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, The Wedding Planner, My Father The Hero, Steel Magnolias, Beaches, The Little Mermaid, and My Fair Lady.

Q:    What are your favorite movies?

A:     This response will prove how my tastes are completely all over the map.  As I mentioned above, it is difficult for me to choose favorites, but some of my favorites are: The Godfather, The Muppets Take Manhattan (I cry when Miss Piggy and Kermit get married), Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Roman Holiday, and Home Alone.  (No, this list wasn’t a joke.)

Q:   I’m new to making smoothies.  Any tips for making a great one?

A:    Smoothies are my number one food love of the moment.  Since I am used to making them, I add greens, protein powders, and get very creative.  If you’re new to the game, I’d suggest starting off simply and working your way up to the green stuff. One winner is a smoothie made with 2-3 ice cubes, 1 banana, 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla or chocolate almond milk, and a tablespoon of peanut butter.  You cannot go wrong with that combo!

I’ll be posting a part 2 in a few weeks, so keep your questions coming!  You can send them to me at: easturner@gmail.com.

Enjoy your weekend!

7 Comments
  1. April 23, 2011 10:24 AM

    I like a lot of the same chick flicks as you! We’ll have to catch one in the theater together sometime soon!

  2. April 23, 2011 12:18 PM

    Wow, those peppers are impressive!

  3. April 23, 2011 3:08 PM

    We agree on a lot of the chick flicks and I swear I like more intellectual movies sometimes too!

    • April 23, 2011 6:52 PM

      I’m glad that I’m not the only one who loves chick flicks! 🙂

  4. April 24, 2011 2:59 AM

    I don’t know why but I just can’t get into bellpeppers! Even thought they find their way onto any meal that is good for you, I always pick them out haha.

Comments are closed.

