Skip to content

Feeling Festive

April 22, 2011

One of my favorite things to do around each holiday is bake mini doughnuts.  It is so much fun to decorate them and make them look festive.  Plus, they are so much healthier than traditional doughnuts.

So, while many people are coloring Easter eggs this week, I was baking doughnuts yesterday.

For Valentine’s Day, I used a basic recipe.  While those are delicious, this time around, I got creative.

Banana Doughnuts

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
4 teaspoons Earth Balance, melted (or butter of choice)
1 large overripe banana, mashed
1 teaspoon banana flavoring (or use another banana)
1/2 cup plain unsweetened almond milk (any milk would work)
1 egg, lightly beaten

Basic Icing
1/2 cup confectioners powdered sugar (mix 1 tablespoon cocoa powder for chocolate icing)
1 tablespoon almond milk
Sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Transfer to a pitcher or fabric piping bag.  Spray doughnut pan with cooking oil.  Fill pan with batter.  Bake for approximately 10-12 minutes (until doughnuts appear lightly browned).  Let cool on wire rack before decorating.


These were so cute that I just couldn’t stop photographing them.  I was like the doughnut paparazzi! (By the way, I think the two doughnuts in the front are dating.)

I wish that I could send one to everybody, but Michael and I will just have to eat them all by ourselves.

I know.  Poor us.

*****

Yesterday, I was lucky enough to be Freshly Pressed, and it brought a whole bunch of new wonderful readers to TGS!

I’d like to raise a glass (well, a South Carolina Tervis Tumbler filled with a Strawberry Banana Green Smoothie) to all of the newbies.

Welcome!

Cheers!

As a special thanks to all the new readers and faithful readers, a giveaway is on the horizon, so stay tuned!

Happy Friday everyone!!!

10 Comments
  1. April 22, 2011 8:45 AM

    You are so pretty! Love the pics! I like your hair! looks beautiful!

    Oh my these doughnuts look amazing! Are you sure you and Michael can’t share? ha! Love the easter colors!!

    Happy Good Friday! xoxo ❤

    • April 22, 2011 8:48 AM

      You’re so sweet! 🙂 I am really happy that I had the guts to cut off some of my hair. 🙂 Happy Good Friday to you too!

  2. April 22, 2011 9:50 PM

    I always love your thoughts and foods!!- so much so that I have nominated you for the versatility blogger award!

  3. April 22, 2011 11:38 PM

    I love the virtual cheers with the smoothie tumbler, lol! And your hair looks gorgeous, I love it!!

    These doughnuts look so adorably cute and colorful; I would have turned into the paparazzi, too! Sometimes food is just too pretty to eat, and I feel like these doughnuts fall into that category. But I bet they taste as good as they look, so scratch that…I’d eat ’em! 🙂

  4. April 23, 2011 1:04 AM

    Those are so cute! I might just have to go buy a doughnut pan now to make these!

  5. April 23, 2011 5:03 AM

    waow.., that was beautiful doughnut.. And it will be delicious when I get it. You are amazing Erin… 🙂

    • April 23, 2011 12:45 PM

      Aw thanks! 🙂 The doughnuts were a definite winner with my family. You should absolutely try making them!

  6. April 23, 2011 1:43 PM

    Love these! Must try, when I get my hands on a mini donut pan!

    • April 23, 2011 6:52 PM

      I found mine at Target, and they also sell them at Bed Bath & Beyond. 😉

Comments are closed.

