Skip to content

No Weird Stuff Please

April 21, 2011

The other day, my father called and asked if I’d hang out with him at my parent’s house.  Of course, he wanted the company of his darling daughter, but there was also a catch.

He wanted me to cook him a healthy lunch.

In his own words, “Can you make me something healthy that is like the stuff I like to eat?  No tofu or any of that weird stuff you like to eat.”

At first, I was mildly insulted, but I do realize that chia seeds, kale chips, and smoothies the color of grass aren’t normal for everybody.

I assured my father that I cook healthy meals for Michael every night and never once have I served him anything that he couldn’t identify.

Lunch was my healthy chicken tenders recipe, but this time, I added parmesan to Panko mixture.  It was served with honey mustard dipping sauce.

I also made fries by cutting a sweet potato into thin slices and coated it with 1 teaspoon of olive oil and a sprinkling of sea salt.  They were baked in the oven for 13 minutes on each side at 425 degrees.

The result?  He gave me a thumb’s up as he was eating and told me that lunch was a winner.  I was so proud that I made them again for Michael last night.

At dinner time, I served them with roasted broccoli and roasted potatoes.


It was my first time making the potatoes following this recipe exactly, and they came out really well.

Once again, the meal was well received.

I truly believe that any dish can be turned into a healthier version.  The notion that all healthy food tastes bland and boring really bothers me.  It is my goal to teach my friends, loved ones, and clients that it is possible to eat well and actually enjoy the food.

Do your friends and family members assume that a healthy diet is boring?  Have you been able to convince them otherwise?  What foods would you like to see turned into healthier versions?

Today is grocery shopping day, so I am off to replenish our fridge and get some things for the Toss the Junk Project (and possibly some new Tarte makeup from Ulta).

Have a fantastic day!

(PS- Check out some cleaning tips at Kath’s blog and my little contribution!)

15 Comments
  1. Errign permalink
    April 21, 2011 10:35 AM

    My dad gets a little weirded out by the “super healthy” stuff, but he’s okay with most of it. My friends are used to me going off about nutrition and my unnatural obsessions with certain healthy foods, so it’s all good. 🙂

    • April 22, 2011 8:46 AM

      Haha. Mine are used to it too. Some of them have even adopted some of my healthy habits!

  2. April 21, 2011 12:21 PM

    Here is something to try that I love – I use lemon olive oil and sea salt on sweet potatoes – mmm, good. I made turkey burgers and placed them on a mixed salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and my husband enjoyed every bite of it. We love to grill 365 and our family and friends are amazed at what we grill – strawberries, pineapple, peaches, all types of veggies & meat – this is a healthy way to cook food and is healthy for you. Just have fun tasting new foods and of course wines.

    • April 21, 2011 8:35 PM

      It all sounds great! We eat lots of turkey burgers in my house, and I am borderline obsessed with sweet potatoes.

  3. April 21, 2011 1:31 PM

    I have that problem too! Co-workers, friends, and my family all think my foods are super weird. haha But usually if I can get them to try it – they agree that it’s all pretty darn tasty!

    Kudos to your for making your Dad a healthy lunch that he enjoyed!

    • April 21, 2011 8:35 PM

      Haha. Thanks! 🙂 Yes- my co-workers have seen me eating very unusual things, but I always say they don’t know what they are missing!

  4. April 21, 2011 1:33 PM

    My family frequently acts weird when picking out restaurants since I’m a vegetarian when really I can usually find something to eat anywhere! They also think it’s odd that I try to buy as much stuff as possible organic…oh well.

  5. April 21, 2011 2:02 PM

    Hi! All the food you make looks so yummy. The potatoes look so delicious.

    enjoying looking though all the healthy food posts 🙂

  6. April 21, 2011 4:09 PM

    My husband’s only concern is that we have protein in our meal…other than that, he’s fine with whatever I make cause he knows ‘bland’ is nowhere near what I cook!

  7. April 21, 2011 6:23 PM

    Everyone assumes everything I eat tastes like cardboard or grass – NOT the case! Nourishing your body can taste great too!

    I’m looking forward to trying some of your recipes – they look delish! We “add batter” with quinoa – it’s amazing! 🙂

    • April 21, 2011 8:38 PM

      Exactly! Eating real, clean, healthy food feels amazing! Oh and I just looooove quinoa. I even eat it for breakfast sometimes.

  8. April 21, 2011 6:42 PM

    I’m over the ridicule from family members as I eat healthy. They made fun of my roasted beets last night, but I had the last laugh, because they were delicious! Love your yellow plates. So sunny.

    • April 21, 2011 6:54 PM

      Thank you! Yellow is my favorite color because it looks happy. 🙂 I took my stepdaughter to see Hop last weekend, and they were using the same plates in the movie!

  9. April 22, 2011 10:55 AM

    This looks wonderful! I am printing to try next week 🙂 LOVE roasted broccoli…I’m a big Ina Garten fan and she has me hooked on roasting any and all veggies.

Comments are closed.

