Skip to content

All By Myself

April 20, 2011

Last night, Michael was out of town on business, so I was all alone for dinner.

I decided to make Herb Crusted Salmon on top of a salad.

Some friends and I were talking once and they were shocked that I bother to cook whenever it is just me.

My response was, “I have to eat too!”

Honestly, I like preparing meals (whether for other people or myself) because it makes me feel good to cook healthy fresh food.  My body deserves to be well fed no matter what the circumstance.

To quote those old cheesy hair color commercials, “I am worth it!”

Herb Crusted Salmon

Ingredients (for 4 people)
4  salmon filets (about 6 ounces each)
¼ cup fresh finely chopped parsley
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 clove minced garlic
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 egg white
1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
⅓ cup Panko bread crumbs
½ teaspoon thyme

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a baking sheet with tin foil and spray sheet with cooking spray. Place salmon fillets on sheet. Brush salmon with mustard. Then mix oregano, thyme, pepper, sea salt, parsley, lemon, garlic, and Panko crumbs in a separate bowl. Next, whisk egg white into bread crumb mixture to bind ingredients. Then spread this mixture over the mustard. Place salmon in oven for about 20 minutes depending on thickness of fish. Broil for an additional 2 minutes (for a crispy crust).

Here are some other meals that I’ve made when I’ve dined solo…

Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of mornings, afternoons, and evenings when I don’t feel like cooking for anyone.  On those occasions,  I have a few easy solutions which I plan to share later this week…so stay tuned!

After dinner, I watched “You Again” with Kristen Bell.  Well, I didn’t watch it with her.  She was just in it.  Would have been cool though.  😉

The movie was a little on the cheesy side, but it kept me entertained.  Then again, I’m kind of like a baby.  You could dangle a set of car keys in front of me, and I’d be entertained!

Do you cook for yourself when you are eating alone?  What was the last chick flick you watched?

Happy Wednesday!

124 Comments
  1. April 20, 2011 8:40 AM

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. I love sharing delicious recipes. Food is something we all can enjoy. Take care.

    Delicious Cod Recipe

  2. April 20, 2011 8:42 AM

    This looks so good and I LOVE the glass of wine with it! Wish I could have dined with you!

    Hope your week is great! xoxo ❤

    • April 20, 2011 3:20 PM

      I would have loved that too! One of these days, we’ll get to have some wine together! 🙂

  3. April 20, 2011 12:22 PM

    I am so impressed your cooked yourself such a nice dinner. I find it hard to motivate to go to so much effort when I am alone for dinner…

    • April 20, 2011 3:15 PM

      Trust me, I didn’t always get int cooking for myself, but once you try it, it is actually pretty fun!

  4. April 20, 2011 1:52 PM

    Looks delicious! I used to not cook for myself when I’m solo and hubby is on a trip, but I’ve been trying to do it more often these days, esp because hubby was gone for over a month! I listen to music while I prepare my meal, enjoy the process of cooking, and try and slow myself down — it always puts me in a better mood than if I just say “screw it, I’ll have a PB&J,” which has been known to happen from time to time. 😉

    As for last chick flick I watched, I think it was Bridget Jones’ Diary. Love that movie! Have a fab rest of the week! xo

    {apologies if I double-posted this! My comments don’t seem to be showing up! Feel free to delete extras!}

    • April 20, 2011 3:34 PM

      I love that movie!!!! It has been ages since I’ve seen it. I need to watch it again soon. 🙂 Hope you have a great rest of the week too! 🙂

  5. April 20, 2011 9:46 PM

    I love cheesy click flicks, I started watching Sex and the City 2 and had no idea why everyone thought it was so bad? I was really enjoying it until the boyfriend showed up a lured me away from HBO for froyo!

    • April 21, 2011 10:13 AM

      SATC 2 was VERY cheesy to me, but I still enjoyed it (if that makes sense). I just love those ladies!

  6. April 20, 2011 9:57 PM

    You go girl! I have a hard time cooking only for myself. I tend to put together some good breakfasts& lunches and wind up snacking for dinner some nights..oops! I’m moving in two weeks and hoping the bigger kitchen motivates me 😀 I like the “I’m worth it!” You’re right! -jamie

    • April 21, 2011 10:14 AM

      Haha. You’re worth it too!! 🙂 Moving into my house a year ago made a big difference for me with cooking since my kitchen is much larger than the one I had in my condo. Cooking in a bigger kitchen is awesome motivation!

  7. April 21, 2011 7:54 AM

    Hmm, that looks really good… I need to try making salmon sometime. I’ve always been afraid to, but you make it look so easy!

    And, it’s awesome that you make such good things for yourself – you totally are worth it! I try to do that, but sometimes I don’t have too much to work with in the kitchen 🙂

    • April 21, 2011 10:15 AM

      Don’t be afraid to cook it! It cooks really fast, so you just have to check on it to make sure you don’t overdo it. You can do it, you can do it! 🙂

  8. April 21, 2011 10:07 AM

    Lovely pics, yum healthy looking food, and so awesome that you do this for just you! 😀
    I just watched ‘Eat Pray Love’ yesterday and thought it was the cheesiest movie I have seen in a long time 😛

    • April 21, 2011 10:16 AM

      I haven’t seen that movie yet because I heard such terrible things about it. Who knows though? I am a cheeseball, so I might like it! Haha. 🙂

  9. April 21, 2011 10:15 AM

    That looks amazing! Does your husband ask you to make some of those again when he sees the pictures? Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

    • April 21, 2011 10:18 AM

      Haha. My husband often finishes a meal and then tells me that he wishes he could eat it all over again. When I plan my weekly menus, it isn’t difficult for him to put in some requests…and I am sure that photos help him to make his recommendations!

      • April 21, 2011 10:24 PM

        i want to cook for my fiance too.but i dont know how….hehe..nice post you gave me an idea

  10. April 21, 2011 10:19 AM

    Wow. I think I want to be with you when you dine alone. Wait … that would be counterproductive, right? 😉

    Beautiful pix and great recipe!

    • April 21, 2011 10:21 AM

      Haha. I could use the company! Talking to myself at the table makes me feel like a crazy person…but maybe I am! 🙂

  11. April 21, 2011 10:24 AM

    You make this look so easy lol it looks really good! Salmon is my favorite.

    • April 21, 2011 10:27 AM

      Thank you! It actually was pretty simple. I’m on such a salmon kick though that making it has become second nature. 🙂

  12. Michelle permalink
    April 21, 2011 10:35 AM

    “My body deserves to be well fed no matter what the circumstance.”

    Beautiful!

    I truly enjoy preparing food when it’s just me. Heck, I sometimes make dinner just for myself when my husband and kids ARE at home. Because I feel like having something different or because I’m hungry when they’re not. Or whatever. 🙂

    I don’t watch many chick-flicks because they invariably make me sob like my two-year-old. I think I caught a little piece of “Love Actually” recently and I was boo-hooing just THINKING about another scene, not even the one that was playing!

    Gorgeous photos of your solo meals – Yay for getting FP’d!

    • April 21, 2011 4:22 PM

      Thank you! 🙂 “Love Actually” is one of my favorite movies. I just love Hugh Grant’s character in it and his assistant. They are so cute.

  13. April 21, 2011 10:55 AM

    I’m craving!! Nice post.

  14. April 21, 2011 11:17 AM

    It’s so funny I just read your post now, since this week my boyfriend is working late and I have been having “me” nights every day! I’m pretty lazy to cook a full out meal, but love a good pot of soup, which lasts a few days:) Last night I watched “How do you Know” with Reese Witherspoon, but was a bit disappointed…Not sure what to go for tonight, any suggestions? And great recipe btw!

    • April 21, 2011 4:25 PM

      We watched “How Do You Know” last weekend and were slightly disappointed as well. We’re on a bad movie streak right now. As far as girl movies, Bride Wars, 27 Dresses, The Holiday, 16 Candles, When Harry Met Sally, Sleepless in Seattle, While You Were Sleeping, Ever After, and Never Been Kissed are a few good ones. I’m going to list all of my favorites in an upcoming Q&A. 🙂 Enjoy your “you” night!

  15. Josh permalink
    April 21, 2011 11:18 AM

    wow!! this is great.. i gonna try,, thats for this free training

  16. Cotton Fields permalink
    April 21, 2011 11:47 AM

    Wow! it’s so great to know a few people who cook even when they have to eat alone. 😀 I do that too, mine is simpler and since i looove salads..i do a great deal of tossing anything green i could find 🙂

    thanks for the post!

    awesome!

    • April 21, 2011 4:26 PM

      Salads are always a fun easy option. I love getting creative with them and trying new things to toss in there. 🙂

  17. April 21, 2011 11:50 AM

    Excellent menu you have here- salmon is my favorite! Have never trie dthe herb crust… will do now! ;o)

    • April 21, 2011 4:27 PM

      Salmon is my favorite too. Sometimes I worry that I’ll start to grow gills!

  18. April 21, 2011 12:03 PM

    Love Salmon so going to have to try this recipe out. When I am in the mood I will cook for myself(usually fish, veggies & salad) and other times it may be a bowl of popcorn – a go to food filler. I think the last chick flick I have seen was Bride Wars with Kate Hudson and Anne Hatheway. Looking forward to seeing Something Borrowed with Kate Hudson and Gennifer Goodwin. Love a Great Chick Flick and sometimes my spouse will enjoy it too.

    • April 21, 2011 4:27 PM

      I’m dying to see that movie! I just love Ginnifer Goodwin. She was great in Ramona & Beezus which was an adorable movie.

  19. April 21, 2011 12:19 PM

    That looks soooooo good! My mouth is literally watering! When I’m alone I usually treat myself to some greasy old fast food.

  20. April 21, 2011 12:32 PM

    Impressive… looks good, looking forward to trying it. Thank you for sharing.

    Don’t know what the last chick flick I watched was, but my favorite is The Holiday.

    • April 21, 2011 7:04 PM

      I adore that movie. Kate Winslet is stunning, and I would kill for Cameron’s wardrobe in it!

  21. April 21, 2011 12:35 PM

    looks good!

  22. April 21, 2011 12:53 PM

    Looks great!
    I cook for just myself every night (I’m in college), and I love doing it!
    Thanks for the new recipe 🙂

    • April 21, 2011 7:06 PM

      I’m impressed that you cook while in college. I definitely didn’t do that often!

  23. April 21, 2011 12:54 PM

    Yum. This is much better then the meal I prepared for myself last night, as hubby was on biz too. Took some chicken noodle soup out of the freezer that I had made earlier in the week. Great post and congrats on Freshly Pressed.

    • April 21, 2011 7:07 PM

      Thank you. 🙂 I love making soup because it saves so well for leftovers. Chicken noodle is definitely one of my favorites.

  24. April 21, 2011 12:56 PM

    I don’t cook for myself and I’m single so I’m always alone. Does your hubby ever get jealous of the food you cook while he’s not around?

    My last chick flick: How Do You Know starring Paul Rudd, Reese Witherspoon and Jack Nicholsen. LOVED IT!

    • April 21, 2011 7:11 PM

      He definitely does! I try not to rub it in while he is away, but he reads the blog…so there is no escaping it! 🙂 I adore Reese Witherspoon. I’d watch her in anything!

  25. April 21, 2011 12:57 PM

    MMMM… The dish looks yummi. I will try it this weekend. Thanks.

  26. April 21, 2011 12:58 PM

    Healthy thinking…delicious ideas…a great home luau.

  27. April 21, 2011 1:39 PM

    Dan is out of town all week for work, he travels a lot. I always cook for myself too 🙂

  28. April 21, 2011 1:42 PM

    Yes! I absolutely cook for myself when I am eating alone! You can always eat leftovers the next day for lunch. Love your blog – thanks for sharing.
    http://www.modestcupboard.wordpress.com

    • April 21, 2011 8:11 PM

      Leftovers for lunch are the best! They make life so much easier. And if the meal is good, it is exciting to eat it again the very next day. 🙂

  29. April 21, 2011 1:47 PM

    Thanks for the recipe! Great pictures….

    To answer your second question, the last chick flick I saw was Love and Other Drugs. I guess that’s a chick flick? It was better than I expected.

    • April 21, 2011 8:12 PM

      I really want to see that movie. We’ve contemplated watching it a few times. I’ll have to add it the queue!

  30. April 21, 2011 2:00 PM

    That herb crusted salmon & salad looks really yummy! I don’t really like mushrooms but I want to… if that makes sense lol. I actually like cooking for just myself just as much if not more than when I’m cooking for other people too.. mostly because I can make my dish EXACTLY how I want it! (I have a couple picky eaters in my household.) 🙂

    • April 21, 2011 8:13 PM

      I know what you mean! Michael isn’t picky at all, but his kids sure are picky. They are not fond of new foods!

  31. April 21, 2011 2:14 PM

    I never buy into the “it’s just me why bother” mode, eating alone isn’t the greatest but at least having a great meal makes it better. Congrats on being pressed.

  32. beckyspringer permalink
    April 21, 2011 2:43 PM

    I love cooking for myself :). I’m definitely going to try your recipe, thank you for sharing it!! I think the last chick flick I watched was P.S. I love you. It was on tv the other day… that movie makes me cry every time but I love it!

    • April 21, 2011 8:14 PM

      I haven’t seen that movie in ages. I need to watch it again!

  33. April 21, 2011 3:17 PM

    Your recipes is brilliant . :)I like experimenting with new recipes. For example yesterday i made chocholate cake. My parents ate it in the minute it was put on the table 🙂

    • April 21, 2011 8:20 PM

      That’s the most rewarding part- watching other people enjoy what we make! Although, I’d be annoyed if someone dared to eat all of my chocolate cake! Haha. 🙂

  34. Murtuza permalink
    April 21, 2011 3:44 PM

    This is a fantastic recipe. I love oregano and I mainly put it along with my pastas or my omelets. I may, need a substitute for thyme though, ’cause I don’t get that where I’m from…
    Thank you for sharing this recipe! And I love the pictures of all the other dishes you’ve put too 🙂

    • April 21, 2011 8:15 PM

      Thank you! You probably don’t even need the thyme. Maybe just add a dash more of the others. 🙂

  35. April 21, 2011 3:52 PM

    Wow this looks amazing and I am totally hungry now. I might just have to try this tomorrow night for dinner.

  36. April 21, 2011 3:57 PM

    Fabulous! I love being a foodie. I am a dietitian at a nationally renown clinic, and if you follow my blog, you’ll see every single thing I eat in a day. Learn to eat like a dietitian! Follow me each day, as I go through real life situations – and temptations! -Notyouraveragefoodie.wordpress.com

  37. Healthy Mama permalink
    April 21, 2011 4:32 PM

    The photos are so beautiful, I want to eat the page!

  38. April 21, 2011 4:37 PM

    I have never felt the food was …
    how it feels on the my tongue .. : D
    ehmm…

  39. April 21, 2011 4:55 PM

    Mmmm, that looks quite exciting, my fiancee would love those dishes, though I don’t really eat fish. I end up cooking a lot when I’m by myself and have the food to do so, but it’s extremely simple stuff… like soup and a sandwitch.

  40. aluchia permalink
    April 21, 2011 5:28 PM

    Ha, I will let you know if I am ever alone. I did like that movie, although it did pack a high cheese factor. Last chick flick I watched, The Frog Princess. Don’t know if that counts, but I love that one. The jazz just gets me going.

    • April 21, 2011 8:17 PM

      I’m dying to see that movie. My husband and I actually have it in our queue. 🙂

  41. Alive aLwaYs permalink
    April 21, 2011 5:37 PM

    I don’t know, why I am bad at knowing good dishes. I can eat right about anything, I does not matter much, but yes, I do have high thrust for fast food. But I can tell your dishes look delicious.
    Does “No strings attached” count as a chick flick?

    • April 21, 2011 8:19 PM

      I haven’t seen it, but if Natalie Portman is in it, it deserves to be on the list. 🙂

  42. Rothena aymen permalink
    April 21, 2011 5:59 PM

    Thank u for the recipe. U encouraged me to put some of mines.

  43. April 21, 2011 7:06 PM

    Some of these look delicious! I really need to start eating healthy too 😦

    • April 21, 2011 8:18 PM

      It is never too late to start! 🙂 I turned my husband into a healthy eater just by helping him make gradual changes.

  44. April 21, 2011 8:09 PM

    I just so happened to come across this blog post, and I must say this looks really good!

  45. April 21, 2011 8:26 PM

    I’ve been by myself for months, husband at a job in another state, and you are right, cooking for ourselves can be delightful………only thing is I usually have too many leftovers! Especially when I bake cookies, so then I walk around and distribute extra to my neighbors.

    • April 21, 2011 8:34 PM

      Baking alone can be dangerous! I usually end up eating some and then driving the rest over to my parent’s house. 🙂

  46. April 21, 2011 8:49 PM

    Thanks thegrassskirt for your post. I might lost my diet when I eat this kind of fantastic food:)

  47. April 21, 2011 9:23 PM

    I would have loved that too! One of these days, we’ll get to have some wine together!

  48. Mariajose permalink
    April 21, 2011 9:41 PM

    Hey! Thanks for the post & the recipe! I recently started cooking different stuff and my parents seem to like it. I’ve taken then from Hispanic food to American, Mediterranean and just healthier food. I’ll probably try yours out next week.

    Also, I cook for myself. Mostly I never cook for myself but if I have to I would, plus your food can be half the calories from what you could buy in a restaurant. Plus you could experiment and try out things that you like or just to see if it works.

    Nice post!

  49. April 21, 2011 10:12 PM

    I love salmon i may have to make this for myself 🙂

  50. April 21, 2011 10:23 PM

    I love to cook, unfortunately, the Golfer will only eat “some” foods, and will not try anything new.

  51. April 21, 2011 10:42 PM

    that food looks amazing! i need to set aside a little time to cook!

  52. April 21, 2011 10:58 PM

    I haven’t seen that movie yet because I heard such terrible things about it. Who knows though? I am a cheeseball, so I might like it! Haha. 🙂

  53. April 21, 2011 11:11 PM

    Yummy,I love what you cooked.I’m not sure if I could do it well as you did.But I’ll tryna have them cook anytime.Hope learn much from your blog,and thanks for sharing such great thing.

  54. thesavvystudent permalink
    April 21, 2011 11:28 PM

    I’m definitely going to try this recipe out. I love salmon so much and have been experimenting with a few different recipes. This one looks FABULOUS! Thanks for sharing!

  55. April 21, 2011 11:31 PM

    I’ve never been to Ecuador, but some things never change when you’re serving in other countries– the high starch, high fried food diet, constant setbacks, and dealing with people from your own country! Now if only we had sloths here in South Africa….

  56. April 22, 2011 12:11 AM

    it really looks delicious and most important…healthy!

  57. April 22, 2011 1:12 AM

    That looks amazing!!

  58. April 22, 2011 3:32 AM

    i’m so hungry when i see this pic

  59. jean permalink
    April 22, 2011 3:46 AM

    Yes, I cook for myself. Madame Benoit’s maple baked beans, baked spicy sausage baked alongside for the last hour, a green salad and a Cara-Cara orange for dessert. The baked beans were about the equivalent of four cans of beans, but taste a lot better, and are better for me the way I cook them. You can find the recipe online if you google “Madame Benoit Maple beans”.

    The last “chick” flick I watched was the complete Jam and Jerusalem. Took me about a month. It’s on DVD, in the U.S. renamed Clatterford. Prior to that, January I think, I watched Antonia’s Line.

  60. April 22, 2011 4:11 AM

    I love cheesy click flicks, I started watching Sex and the City 2 and had no idea why everyone thought it was so bad? I was really enjoying it until the boyfriend showed up a lured me away from HBO for froyo!

  61. Kai permalink
    April 22, 2011 4:27 AM

    oh wow! the pics make me hungry..looks so delicious

  62. April 22, 2011 6:59 AM

    Nutrient and rich.

  63. Sherri permalink
    April 22, 2011 8:49 AM

    Cooking great meals at home is such a great way to boost your quality of living without spending much extra money. Love it!

    • April 22, 2011 8:50 AM

      You’re so right! Sometimes I feel like I am getting a better meal when I eat at home than when I dine out. We’ve saved so much money since we’ve started cooking at home more.

  64. Dria permalink
    April 22, 2011 9:14 AM

    If you are a man marry me >:D< :))

  65. April 22, 2011 9:24 AM

    Dude… that looks DELICIOUS.

    And if I never cooked for just myself, I’d never eat. Granted, my cooking isn’t always *healthy.* And sometimes it’s brought on by the “I’m worth it” attitude… Other times, it’s the “ugh… fast food again?!” attitude. But still… 🙂

    Of course, now, I just might have to go buy some salmon.

  66. April 22, 2011 9:42 AM

    What is the recipe for the plate with the mushrooms? Looks fantastic!

  67. April 22, 2011 9:52 AM

    I would definitely have this fish for dinner and cool recipe.

  68. April 22, 2011 12:21 PM

    I dont cook period, just don’t have the time. Loved your post though, great photos as well.

    Cheers.

  69. April 22, 2011 12:46 PM

    I love the sound of this recipe — and right when I needed something different to do with salmon. Thank you!

  70. April 22, 2011 2:54 PM

    Makes me hungry just looking at this…yum!!
    http;//zomadic.wordpress.com

  71. April 22, 2011 4:31 PM

    Looks delicious! Congrats on being freshly pressed! When my fiance is out of town, I love to cook breakfast for dinner… maybe an omelette with spinach, tomatoes and feta! yum!

  72. nicole permalink
    April 22, 2011 10:30 PM

    This looks so yummy! I cant wait to make it.

  73. April 23, 2011 3:21 AM

    Lovely photos! I agree with your cooking philosophy. Everyone deserves to have a great, home-cooked meal. Eating alone just means I can eat whatever I want, without worrying about other tastes and predilections. An experience to be savored, not ignored.

  74. thor27 permalink
    April 23, 2011 1:37 PM

    Gal you’re killing me !!! Yum Yum they look good. I read freshly pressed almost daily
    Check out my blog sometime.
    “Whatcha need Got you covered in Northwest Houston,Tx.”

  75. April 24, 2011 10:28 AM

    salmon is one of my favorite fishes to eat and this recipe makes it look even better! im taking this recipe from you! =]

  76. April 24, 2011 11:42 PM

    yummy! Your pictures make me hungry! I must try to make it for my family sooner or later. Thank you for your sharing!

  77. April 25, 2011 4:50 AM

    You go girl! I have a hard time cooking only for myself. I tend to put together some good breakfasts& lunches and wind up snacking for dinner some nights..oops! I’m moving in two weeks and hoping the bigger kitchen motivates me 😀 I like the “I’m worth it!” You’re right! -jamie

  78. April 25, 2011 7:30 AM

    can i have some?lol

  79. April 26, 2011 3:11 AM

    am so impressed your cooked yourself such a nice dinner. I find it hard to motivate to go to so much effort when I am alone for dinner…

  80. April 26, 2011 10:31 AM

    yo,.. yo,… yo,… your cooking look so delicious.
    it a great lucky for a man to become your husband.
    i’ll try at home

    hey,.. what about information about unique drink.
    http://luwakcoffe.wordpress.com/luwak-coffee-unique-history/

  81. April 27, 2011 7:43 AM

    This is very interesting, You’re an exceptionally skilled blogger. I’ve got joined your feed and appearance forward to seeking even more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your site during my internet sites!

  82. April 28, 2011 9:56 PM

    I cook for a whole lot of people almost everyday so when the odd chance of eating alone arises it’s usually because I happened upon something especially tempting like truffles. The edible fungus like mushroom not chocolate. Okay I admit it. I bought one teensy tinsy one (don’t ask the cost,too,too embarassed) I ate it shaved on a poached egg. What can I say. It was better than you know what… I’d doit again in a heartbeat.
    I don’t watch too many chick-flicks but I like “Weeds”.

  83. May 1, 2011 7:18 AM

    yummy mouth watering

  84. May 6, 2011 8:44 AM

    Great chef you are really!My mouth is watering by seeing your dishes.Anyways thank you for sharing it with us. Delicious blog lol!

Trackbacks

  1. All By Myself (via The Grass Skirt) « A Bit of Everything
  2. All By Myself (via The Grass Skirt) « greengreen16

Comments are closed.

