Skip to content

Impress Your Guests

April 19, 2011

Last night, Michael and I had company, so I made Chicken Marsala, a dish that is always a winner in our house.

I’m going to refrain from saying, “Winner, winner, chicken dinner” because I hate that saying.

But I guess I kinda just said it…

This meal comes together very easily, but it tastes like it was made in a restaurant.  In fact, our guest even said that it looked like something he’d order in a restaurant.

Hopefully, he meant a fine Italian restaurant and not McDonald’s.  I’d even be content with Olive Garden status.

******

Chicken Marsala

(Inspired by Cooking Light)

Ingredients (serves 4)
4 tablespoons Earth Balance butter, divided
Cooking spray
8 ounces sliced baby bella mushrooms
1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/4 teaspoon salt, divided
1/4 teaspoon black pepper, divided
3 tablespoons whole wheat flour
3/4 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup dry Marsala wine
1/2 cup frozen green peas
2 tablespoons unsweetened plain almond milk
4 cups hot cooked whole wheat fettuccine (about 8 ounces uncooked pasta)

Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat; add mushrooms, shallots (if using), and garlic. Cook 3 minutes or until moisture evaporates; remove mushroom mixture from pan. Set aside.

Place each chicken breast half between 2 sheets of heavy-duty plastic wrap; pound to a 1/4-inch thickness using a meat mallet or rolling pin. Sprinkle both sides of chicken with 1/8 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Place flour in a shallow dish; dredge chicken breast halves in flour.

Add butter to pan, and place over medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 3 minutes on each side or until lightly browned. Remove chicken from pan. Return mushroom mixture to pan; add broth and Marsala, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes or until reduced to 1 cup. Stir in peas; cook 1 minute. Add 1 tablespoon Earth Balance, almond milk, 1/8 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper, stirring until butter melts. Return chicken to pan; cook until thoroughly heated. Serve chicken and sauce over pasta  (we also had salads).

*****

If you’re ever having dinner guests, I highly recommend this dish.

Trust me, you will not be disappointed.  You might even score a gig at Olive Garden out of it. 😉

What is your go-to meal when you have company?  Recipes and links are welcome!

Have a great day!

10 Comments
  1. April 19, 2011 11:51 AM

    It DOES look like something you’d order in a restaurant and I do mean a nice one! I don’t think I really have a “go to” recipe because I always find myself looking for new things!!

    • April 19, 2011 4:42 PM

      Thank you! I’m glad it doesn’t look like a McD’s special. 🙂

  2. April 19, 2011 12:05 PM

    I made chicken Marsala on Saturday! And I allllllways say it is my go-to dish! Love it.

    • April 19, 2011 4:40 PM

      What a coincidence! I love making it for guests because it looks more difficult than it really is to make. 🙂

  3. April 19, 2011 2:49 PM

    I totally agree- it definitely looks like it could have come from a restaurant! I don’t have any go-to recipes for guests, but then again, I don’t do very much entertaining at my place. It’s so small!

  4. April 19, 2011 11:06 PM

    Brad likes for me to make risotto for guests because he likes to impress guests with my culinary skills. 😉 Here’s my latest version. http://foodiefresh.com/2011/02/15/staying-in-for-valentines-day/

    • April 20, 2011 3:17 PM

      I love risotto. I’m going to try your recipe soon. Michael would love it! 🙂

  5. April 20, 2011 12:38 PM

    I always do something Italian but it seems like they’re always winners:)

    • April 20, 2011 3:19 PM

      Exactly! Both me and my Italian grandmother agree completely! 🙂

  6. April 23, 2011 3:22 AM

    Looks delicious and healthy! Will be bookmarking this recipe.

Comments are closed.

