Skip to content

Eating with the Seasons

April 18, 2011

Ever since the weather started to warm up in Charlotte, I’ve been on a cereal, smoothie, and fruit bowl kick.

In a major way.

On Saturday morning, the weather here was very gloomy and rainy though.  The winds were so strong that they knocked me over sideways into a car when Michael and I were walking through a parking lot!

Well, I suppose my clumsiness could have also been a factor…

Anyway, Saturday’s weather had me wanting something warm for breakfast.  Cereal wasn’t on my breakfast radar at all.

Pumpkin Oatmeal with banana, granola, and maple syrup was the winner!

It always amazes me how our bodies crave certain foods when the weather turns a certain way.  Of course, there are those moments when I crave a smoothie in the middle of a snowstorm, but for the most part, my body wants warming foods in the cold and cooling foods in the heat.

Since the nasty weather appears to be behind us here, I’ve been thinking about heading to the farmers market.   It is my very favorite thing to do in the spring and summer months. There are so many wonderful foods in season during this time of year, and I plan to take full advantage!

Here’s a short list of the foods you can find in season and enjoy throughout the spring:
Arugula, asparagus, beets, bok choy, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, edamame, kiwi, escarole, fennel, green onions, leeks, greenhouse tomatoes, sugar snap peas, herbs, kale, mushrooms, radicchio, leeks, lettuces, mustard greens, parsley, strawberries, swiss chard, radishes, spinach, and turnips

Not a bad list, right?

What are your favorites on the list?  Anything to add?  Do you typically eat in season?

Have a great day!

12 Comments
  1. April 18, 2011 8:01 AM

    Haha, I had pumpkin oatmeal for breakfast today! It just sounded good and I wanted to mix things up, even though I usually just eat it in the fall and winter. I’m all about grilled squash when it warms up 🙂

    • April 18, 2011 4:54 PM

      I feel so silly when I eat pumpkin when it isn’t the fall, but it is SO good!! Let’s get together soon! 🙂

  2. April 18, 2011 12:22 PM

    There are soooo many good things on that list. Reading through it is getting me really excited for nicer weather. I don’t think I can even pick a favorite!

  3. April 18, 2011 9:39 PM

    I am the same way, I actually didn’t have a green smoothie all winter!

    • April 19, 2011 8:04 AM

      I only had a few and wow…I am REALLY making up for lost time now! 🙂

  4. April 18, 2011 10:07 PM

    I LOVE oatmeal w/ pumpkin puree! Pumpkin is such a versatile food and I like that you’re not afraid to have it anytime. A true pumpkin-lover. Hope you’re having a fab night! xo

    • April 19, 2011 8:05 AM

      I am not just a pumpkin lover. I am a pumpkin addict. During the fall, my husband was afraid that I’d turn orange! Haha.

  5. April 18, 2011 11:10 PM

    I’m so the one who would want a smoothie on the cold day. In fact, I did the other day it was cold, but opted for a hot breaky instead! I definitely want to get some edamame!

    • April 19, 2011 8:06 AM

      Edamame with sea salt is as addictive as potato chips for me. I just cannot seem to stop!

  6. April 19, 2011 1:40 PM

    I absolutely LOVE pumpkin anything. I moved to England and found out they didn’t make pumpkin spice lattes in the fall and I was devastated. I had to learn to make my own! I’ve made pumpkin rice pudding with walnuts, but never pumpkin oatmeal. What did you put in yours?

    • April 19, 2011 4:39 PM

      For one serving, I used 1/4 cup dry oats, 1/2 cup water, and 1 teaspoon chia seeds. I cooked the oats until they thickened and then added a few teaspoons of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1/2 banana, a few dashes of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, some stevia, and 1/2 cup canned pumpkin. I topped it off with some maple syrup and a sprinkling of granola. It was delicious! 🙂

  7. April 21, 2011 12:31 PM

    Buying fruiits and veggies when in season can save you money too. We are still trying to burst into Spring here (live in the high desert of the Sierras). I have planted the seeds for my garden this summer – lettuce, spinach, green beans, snap peas, and zucchini. I am thinking of planting another grape tomoto plant as well as picking out a blueberry or raspberry plant to try this summer. The garlic should be ready in the middle of May. We then fill in what is missing during the summer with fruits and veggies from the local farmers market. Get out of your comfort zone and try new fruits and veggies when visiting a farmers market – the farmer may be able to give you some tips on how to cook it too – makes it fun. There is just something about a good bowl of cereal or something to jump start the day:)

Comments are closed.

