Skip to content

Nutty Apple Bites

April 14, 2011

I’m sure you’ve noticed that I’m just a little into my daily smoothies.  Actually, I’m pretty sure that I have green smoothie running through my veins.

Sometimes when I drink my smoothies, I like a little something to go with them.  Something that I can bite into and chew.

Usually, I’m craving a Larabar, but the combination can be way too filling most of the time.  Mini bars are a great option, but I don’t always have them in the house.

Enter Nutty Apple Bites.

These things are really really good and taste very similar to Apple Pie Larabars.

Nutty Apple Bites

Ingredients
1/3 cup pecans
1/3 unsweetened dried apple rings
8-10 pitted dates
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
Salt (pinch)

Chop pecans in a food processor and transfer to a medium-sized bowl.  Add apple and dates to the food processor and process until pieces are broken up and the mixture holds together.  Add mixture to the pecans along with cinnamon and just a pinch of salt.  Mix everything together with your hands (this will be messy!) to form six balls.  Store in an airtight container.

You may have some leftover pieces in your bowl that just didn’t stick together.  I love to keep these in a tiny container and throw them on top of my fruit, oatmeal, and smoothies.  It is a fun little bonus!

These are perfect little bite sized snacks that won’t sit in your stomach like bricks…if you can manage to stop at just one, of course.

I’ve received a few questions by email from some readers, and I plan to do a Q&A soon.  If you have any questions at all, feel free to send them my way: easturner@gmail.com.  I’d love to hear from you!

Q&As make me feel like I’m a celebrity answering interview questions.  I’ll try not to let it go to my head though. 😉

Have a great day!

13 Comments
  1. April 14, 2011 8:26 AM

    These look so good!!! I bet they are all gone, If I had them, they would be!

    Happy Thursday!!! xoxo ❤

  2. April 14, 2011 9:10 AM

    I made these exact same things last summer, but I used walnuts and called them Apple pie nuggets. 😉 My favorite homemade date concoction is cocoa powder + cashews + coconut + dates. Holy deliciousness. 🙂

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    April 14, 2011 11:24 AM

    This is exactly what I’ve been looking for in the mornings! I always crave the taste of a cashew cookie larabar with my green monsters, but it’s just too much food!! Thanks for the idea 🙂 btw, love your blog (and love the fact that you shop at earth fare; it’s like my second home)!!

    • April 14, 2011 11:35 AM

      Aw thank you! 🙂 Which Earth Fare do you shop in? I’m there so often that it gets embarrassing. Not only do I know the cashiers, but I know that promotions people since I teach classes there sometimes!

      • Elizabeth permalink
        April 15, 2011 10:52 AM

        haha I love that! Over the summer, I would go there everyday on my break from work, and the boy who works in the bakery would always have my vegan brownie ready for me on Fridays! I shop at the one in Knoxville, Tennessee! 🙂

  4. April 14, 2011 11:26 AM

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

  5. April 14, 2011 1:20 PM

    Those look really yummy! I need some smoothie lessons I made my first yesterday and hated it, which meant I ook a dew sips and tossed it!

    • April 14, 2011 2:26 PM

      Oh no!!! A smoothie fatality? That breaks my heart! Feel free to send me an email (easturner@gmail.com) if you need any tips. Let me know how you made yours, and I’ll see what I can do to help! 🙂

  6. April 14, 2011 2:59 PM

    These are so cute! This could be the new Larabar — the Larabite! 🙂

    • April 15, 2011 7:23 AM

      Haha. Too cute! I have a few more variations up my sleeve too. 😉

  7. April 15, 2011 8:09 PM

    I love your blog! 🙂 and you had me at nutty… ooomgggg these look so good 🙂

Comments are closed.

