Skip to content

Italian Night

April 7, 2011

Last night was Italian night in my household.  We had homemade pizza, spaghetti, and side salads.

Sounds like a bloat-inducing carb-fest, right?

Actually,  it was not the case at all.  Despite being half Italian, I don’t like traditional spaghetti.

Actually, I should clarify.

I don’t like processed refined white pasta. I’m sure that I’d love real spaghetti in Italy (then again, I’d probably love eating anything just so long as I was in Italy).  When it comes to the nasty convenience food we call spaghetti in America, I substitute whole grain, a quinoa blend, or soba noodles.

Last night, our spaghetti was born from squash (my all-time favorite substitution).

If you’ve never made spaghetti out of spaghetti squash before, there is an easy tutorial here. There’s also a great video tutorial here.

The best tip is to treat your spaghetti squash like real spaghetti.  You can add anything you’d like: Earth Balance butter, garlic salt, marinara sauce, nutritional yeast, veggies, cheese, garlic gold oil, minced garlic, olive oil, olives, basil, fresh tomatoes….go crazy!

I just wouldn’t recommend adding all of those things at once (unless you ARE crazy).

Hopefully, this post doesn’t make my Italian Nana disown me (though luckily the only computer she owns is from 1980).

Do you like spaghetti?  Spaghetti squash spaghetti?  What is your favorite topping?

Ciao!

3 Comments
  1. April 7, 2011 8:50 AM

    I have never had spaghetti squash! Im needing to try it!!!!

    Looks so good! I love the mushrooms!!!!

    Happy Thursday love! xoxo

  2. April 7, 2011 1:47 PM

    Love spaghetti squash! I like it topped with tons of veggies + meatless meatballs + spicy red sauce! 🙂

Comments are closed.

