Skip to content

April Fool’s Day Baby

April 1, 2011

Well, today is April Fool’s Day.

And today is also my birthday (hence why there is a candle in my Puffins cereal).

Upon the request of several TGS readers, I’m going to share with you what is was like growing up with a birthday on April Fool’s Day.


I’d always spend my birthdays a bit on edge since I never knew what to expect from my family as far as jokes were concerned (especially my mother who is a prankster).  After you read some of these little stories, you won’t blame me for being a bit paranoid.

In the first grade, I sat my little booty down at the lunch table and was all excited to be 6 (and who wouldn’t be?). I bit into an orange my mother had packed me for lunch with my mouthful of loose baby teeth only to discover that it was a plastic orange.  Not only that, but it was a plastic orange with blood on it from one of my dangling baby teeth.  Nothing says, “Happy Birthday!” like a bloody orange.

Another time, my parents told me that I would not have to go to school on my birthday.  I was so excited and didn’t bother doing my homework the night before since I would be absent anyway.  The morning of my birthday, my mother told me that I had to go to school.   As I got into the car sobbing with a backpack filled with incomplete homework, my dad came up to the car and sprung the “April Fool’s!” on me and said we were going into the city to see Cats on Broadway.  Wonderful surprise, but who purposely makes their child cry on their birthday?

Another year, I was vacationing with my family in Vermont, and my parents spent the entire day trying to convince me that it wasn’t really my birthday.  “Your birthday was yesterday, and you missed it,” they said.  I tried everything that I could to prove it was my birthday- even showing them a newspaper with the date clearly marked on it as evidence.  “That was yesterday’s paper,” my dad responded.  It was frustrating, and the torture lasted throughout the entire day.  I still think that I deserve a do-over of my 8th birthday.

Also while on the same vacation, my younger sister and I were a sharing a bed.  She said, “Erin, let’s see who can slam their heads down on their pillow the fastest.”  Because I never dreamed that my little sister would pull a prank on me, I slammed my head down on my pillow as fast and as hard as I could.  Good Lord, it hurt something awful.  It must have been the large hotel telephone my sister kindly placed under my pillow. (Melissa, you’re fully responsible for any future hearing loss.)

There are countless other stories (like when my mom put “out of order” signs on all of our toilets and I nearly peed my pants), but you get the point.  Being born on April Fool’s Day is a bloody, painful, frustrating, tear-filled event.

It’s also pretty darn special and cool.


Some former co-workers are taking me to lunch today, and Michael is taking me to dinner at McCormick and Schmick’s tonight.  I’m really excited to order some chicken of the sea!

Unfortunately, I have a nasty cold, but I’m confident that I will be feeling better by this evening.

The only thing that could possibly make my day any better would be a serenade of “Happy Birthday” by Lionel Richie.

(Source)

Hey, it can happen. 😉

Do you pull any pranks on April 1st?  Has anyone ever tricked you?

Happy April Fool’s Day to everyone!

(PS- Happy Birthday to my wonderful friend Kathy too!)

3 Comments
  1. April 1, 2011 9:18 AM

    Awww, those are some rough stories girl! Well Happy Birthday and I hope you are fully recovered for your birthday festivities later today! Have a good one!!

  2. April 1, 2011 1:48 PM

    Happy Birthday! You poor thing they pulled some serious pranks on you I literally cracked up at the phone and pillow one though! Sounds like something my little sister would do to me and I’d be gullible enough o play along. I hope you feel better and enjoy your birthday dinner!

  3. April 1, 2011 2:37 PM

    Happy Birthday Erin!! Those stories are pretty ridiculous, poor girl. I hope this year’s celebration doesn’t have any of those kinds of pranks 🙂 Feel better soon!

Comments are closed.

