Skip to content

Just a bowlful of quinoa…

March 31, 2011

…helps the medicine go down!

(I’ll explain shortly…)

Last night, we had our friend Jeffrey over to dinner.  Jeffrey is a vegetarian, so I prepared Creamy Avocado Pasta, homemade bruschetta, and a salad.  Everything was great- especially the pasta.  I’ll be making this again very soon!  Unfortunately, I was too busy talking to take photos (anyone who knows me won’t be surprised by that at all).

I’ll make the bruschetta again soon, so I can share the recipe.  I think you’ll all love it!

As I was getting things ready yesterday afternoon, the UPS man came to the door with a surprise.

An All-Clad pan from my aunt and uncle!  I’m so excited to use this baby!

I’ve been feeling great lately, but this morning, I woke up with a fever and a swollen throat.  Just in time for my birthday tomorrow. 😦  I already canceled some plans I had to meet my friend Ginger for lunch.  I didn’t want to get her sick.

I’m nursing myself to health right now with a hearty quinoa breakfast bowl.

Quinoa Breakfast Bowl

Ingredients
1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 cups water
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon allspice
pinch of sea salt
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 apple, diced
1 cup strawberries
sprinkling of pecans
Stevia or agave syrup, to taste

Add quinoa through sea salt in small pot, bring to a boil, and simmer (covered) for 15 minutes.  Add milk and simmer uncovered for an additional 10 minutes.  Remove from heat and add apples, berries, and nuts.  Scoop into bowls (serves 4) and sprinkle with stevia or agave.

This is really versatile- any fruit combo would probably work!

Quinoa is said to have healing powers (which I need today).  It can fight fatigue, prevent anemia, regulate blood pressure, and control blood sugar.  It is also packed with protein (5 grams per half cup).  It makes me happy.

Are you a quinoa fan?  What is your favorite quinoa recipe?

Have a great day and stay healthy!

One Comment
  1. March 31, 2011 1:28 PM

    I hope quinoa lives up to it’s reputation and helps you feel better! Being sick on your birthday is no fun at all!

Comments are closed.

