Skip to content

Soup and Dough Balls

March 30, 2011

Well, the sun finally decided to come out yesterday!

Of course, I didn’t expect the sun to emerge from hiding and went to work on making broccoli cheddar soup for Michael.  Now I’m stuck with a massive container of soup.  Perfect for sunshine-y warm weather, right? 😉

In any case, this was super simple to make, healthier than anything you can get from a can, and Michael loved it.

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

(Adapted from here)

Ingredients
1 cup chopped onion
2 minced garlic cloves
1 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
2 cups vegetable broth
12-ounces fresh broccoli florets
2 1/2 cups 2% reduced-fat milk (any milk will work)
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon sea salt (or to taste)
8 ounces shredded cheddar cheese

Heat a large nonstick saucepan coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic; saute 3 minutes or until tender. Add broth and broccoli. Bring broccoli mixture to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium; cook 10 minutes.

Combine milk and flour, stirring with a whisk until well blended. Add milk mixture to broccoli mixture. Cook 5 minutes or until slightly thick, stirring constantly. Stir in pepper. Remove from heat; add cheese, stirring until cheese melts.

Yesterday evening was a lot of fun.  Michael and I met up with Brittney and her husband Greg at Liu Liu’s for dinner.

I ordered the veggie steamer with shrimp and a glass of wine. After dinner, we went back to Brittney and Greg’s house for some dough balls!

It’s hard not to look like a dork when you’re posing with a cookie and have a big hunk of it still in your mouth.

Brittney sent me home with a container of these little babies.  We’ll see how many are left when Michael comes home tonight. 😉

We’re having company over tonight, and I’m making 15 Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta.  Fingers crossed that it turns out well. Angela has never steered me wrong before!

Have a happy Wednesday!

PS- As the Smoothie Queen, I’d like to recommend this link from That’s Fit on How to Make a Healthy Smoothie.  There are some great protein powder suggestions. 🙂

6 Comments
  1. March 30, 2011 9:01 AM

    I love, love, love broccoli cheddar soup! So tasty!

    Looks like you guys had a lot of fun!

  2. March 30, 2011 12:54 PM

    OMG that broccoli cheddar soup looks AMAZING. I’m totally going to have to make that!

  3. March 30, 2011 1:14 PM

    I love broccoli cheddar soup no matter what the weather! What exactly are dough balls? They look delicious!

  4. March 30, 2011 1:14 PM

    Your broccoli cheddar soup looks so chunky and delicious! All you need is a bread bowl like panera! 😉

    • March 30, 2011 2:00 PM

      OMG! Michael would freak if I served the soup in a bread bowl!!! I’ll have to try that next time. 🙂 Now if only I could recreate Panera’s whole grain bagels, I’d be in heaven!

Comments are closed.

