Skip to content

Tilapia Time

March 27, 2011

Good morning!

I’d like to share my dinner from last night with you.  Basically, it was too good not to share.

This was inspired by a similar recipe that I found in Health magazine a few months back. I made several modifications, including using tilapia instead of cod (yuck!).

Almond Crusted Tilapia

Ingredients (serves 4)
1/2 cup coarsely chopped almonds
1 lemon (for zest)
1 TB chopped fresh dill
1 TB olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground pepper
4 tsp dijon mustard
1 lb tilapia

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.  Combine lemon zest, almonds, dill, oil, salt, and pepper in a small bowl.  Place fish on baking sheet and spread each portion with 1 teaspoon mustard. Divide the almond mixture among the portions (pressing into the mustard).  Bake the fish for approximately 8 minutes.  Serve with lemon wedges (optional).

When Michael finished this, he said that he could eat it all over again!

We both agreed that we should have tilapia more often.  It’s right up there with salmon for me!

Breakfast this morning was sprouted whole grain toast with coconut butter, banana, and chia seeds.

I also broiled grapefruit sprinkled with cinnamon and honey.  Dee-lish!

It is still gloomy in Charlotte today, but I’m going to meet up with Kelly for a potential walk and some coffee at FABO Cafe. I’ve never been there, so I’m excited to go!

Did you have anything really good for dinner this weekend?  What are your plans for today?

Enjoy your day!

4 Comments
  1. March 27, 2011 11:10 AM

    The tilapia does look amazing!!!! I have not had grapefruit in forever, I like the way you make it!

    Have a great Sunday, we are relaxing over here today!

    xoxo ❤

    • March 27, 2011 6:47 PM

      It was really good!! I’m sure you’d like it. 🙂 Love your rehearsal dinner dress. It is going to look so pretty on you! Enjoy the rest of your weekend. 🙂

  2. March 27, 2011 8:17 PM

    I’ve been thinking about making my fish a different way, and so thank you! I’ve heard of macadamia crusted but…too pricey!
    Almonds work.
    PS- are macadamia’s cheaper in Hawaii?

    • March 27, 2011 10:25 PM

      You’re welcome! 🙂 I bought macadamia nuts in Hawaii, but from what I recall, they were not cheaper. Nothing seems to be cheap in Hawaii though!

Comments are closed.

