Skip to content

Infomercial Lover

March 26, 2011

As I’ve mentioned several times, I really love making my own salad dressings.  They are so much fresher and healthier (most of the time) than bottled.  The bottled ones always contain a long list of ingredients that I cannot pronounce and contain lots of added sugar and loads of sodium. Of course, I do love Annie’s dressings!

When I noticed that we were running low on dressing last night, I whipped up a bottle of Honey Mustard Dijon Vinaigrette dressing.

Honey Mustard Dijon Vinaigrette Dressing

2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
4 tsp Annie’s dijon mustard

Mix them all together in a bowl with a whisk and refrigerate for up to 10 days. Voila!

The fewer ingredients, the better, right?

Dinner was Chicken and Peppers in Creme Sauce, and it was delicious and easy.  The best kind of recipe.

The recipe came from my beloved Trader Joe’s Cookbook. The only adaptation I made was using almond milk instead of cream.  It worked out perfectly!

Now I have a confession to make.

I love watching infomercials.  After dinner, Michael was outside talking to a neighbor, and I turned on QVC to watch Bare Minerals.  For some reason, I just love watching beauty product infomercials.  I’ve even recorded them on my DVR before.  I’m completely aware of the fact that this is weird behavior.  I am proud to say that I draw the line at any “stylish apparel” they try to sell.  I’m not that bad!

Is there anyone else out there brave enough to admit that they like infomercials and shopping channels?

I also need to state that I never actually buy anything.  I’m a window shopper…or a screen shopper. 😉

The weather isn’t supposed to be so great today, but I’m excited for the day anyway.  We’re off to see my parent’s puppy Coco today and my sister’s puppy Chloe.  They are so cute!

Enjoy your Saturday!

6 Comments
  1. March 26, 2011 11:30 AM

    I know what you mean I love watching youtube videos about products, I don’t buy everything I watch either but its fun to be informed lol. I like to get ideas too to use with things I already have, lol actually one day watching QVC when Smashbox was on, a brand I haven’t ever purchased, I was in awe of the model’s eyebrows and in watching them define the brows I learned some great tips. I also love making my own salad dressing, its funny because my typical dressing is very similar to yours, each day I bring a little tiny plastic ‘dip/dressing’ container to work and i mix a squirt of honey and a little dijon with balsamic vinegar, sometimes I add pressed garlic when I am at home but I find its too strong to bring that to the office. Another really good dressing is to just mix balsamic vingear with cranberry mustard rather than dijon, I dont need any honey when I do this because the cranberry gives it a sweet touch and its so amazing.

    • March 26, 2011 2:06 PM

      The cranberry mustard sounds great! I’ll have to try that soon. And I totally agree about watching infomercials for tips. I think that is the main reason why I like watching the Bare Minerals ones so much. It is like a free tutorial! 🙂

  2. March 26, 2011 10:04 PM

    I LOVE infomercials…they are so amazing (I am an advertising buff) they always come up with creative examples of why you NEED this item. It’s like a handbook for good salesmanship.

    QVC? It’s addictive. Mind-numbing. Moment of zen. I love listening to the things they so…it can be hilarious. The callers are pretty sweet too.
    Dr Denese? Um…what the heck? She’s so beautiful and OF COURSE philosophy. Gotta love that company.

    I fell into a QVC rut for a while, I think I need to dip back into it. Perfect for insomniacs.

    • March 27, 2011 9:34 AM

      I totally agree. QVC is SO addictive!!! My mom and grandmother are also fans, so I’m pretty sure the addiction is genetic. 😉 My mom has ordered things in the middle of the night and hasn’t remembered until they’ve shown up at her door a few days later! Haha.

  3. March 29, 2011 2:12 PM

    I’ll sit on that weird infomercial bench with you. 🙂 I have often said that watching the Bare Minerals infomercials is oddly soothing…and no matter how many times I’ve seen the same one, riveting too! lol

    • March 29, 2011 10:33 PM

      I’m totally like you. I think I’ve watched the same Bare Minerals infomercial like 10 times!

Comments are closed.

