Skip to content

Aloe Vera Juice

March 25, 2011

Hello everyone!

I hope that you’re having a great day so far.  I’m sure that you’re smiling for the weekend.  🙂

This morning, I had my breakfast (Puffins cereal is still my number one) and then followed it up with a glass of aloe juice.  Yes, I said aloe juice.

Most of us have gotten a painful sunburn at some point or another, and we’ve turned to aloe gel to soothe the burn.

Well, until a few months ago, I never imagined that I’d be drinking the juice from an aloe plant.  Michael came down with some weird pine nut poisoning, and after much research through Mr. Google, we discovered that aloe vera juice could help to alleviate the nasty metallic taste he had in his mouth.

I picked up a bottle from Earth Fare and took it home to do a taste test before I poured up a glass for Michael.

It looked…interesting.

There were little thingies floating in it, so I was very skeptical.  I closed my eyes, took a sip, and…I was pleasantly surprised!

Michael even liked it despite the floaters (ok, that doesn’t really sound right…).

Even now that Michael doesn’t technically need to drink the juice anymore, we still keep it in the house.  Both of us feel so refreshed after we drink it.  Plus, the health benefits of this stuff rock:

  • Detoxifies the body and cleanses the colon
  • Detoxifies the blood stream
  • Helps to heal ulcers
  • Helps the digestive tract work smoothly
  • Improves circulation
  • Helps to prevent illness through its antibacterial properties
  • Results in a feeling of energy and health when taken regularly
  • Supports skin regeneration
  • Good source of calcium, sodium, iron, potassium, chromium, magnesium, manganese, copper, and zinc
  • Loaded with vitamins including vitamins A, B1, B2, B6, B12, C and E, Folic Acid and Niacin
  • Supports joint function and muscle mobility
  • Hydrates the skin

Have you ever tried aloe vera juice?  If so, what is your favorite brand? Mine is  Alodrink.  I’ve tried other brands, including one from Trader Joe’s, and I was not a fan.  They tasted like toxic chemicals (or what I’d imagine them to taste like).  Point is that you might have to try a few brands before finding “the one” that makes your heart go all aflutter.

Have a very happy Friday!!!

8 Comments
  1. March 25, 2011 12:07 PM

    I didn’t know aloe juice had so many healthy qualities…I’ll have to try it soon!

    • March 25, 2011 12:33 PM

      Pretty impressive, right? If you try it, let me know what you think! 🙂

  2. March 25, 2011 1:41 PM

    This is really interesting… I had no idea you could drink aloe vera! I’ll have to look around and see if I spot it anywhere.

  3. Recipe Chefs permalink
    March 25, 2011 2:30 PM

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes

    The Most Delicious Baked Cod Recipe

  4. March 25, 2011 6:21 PM

    Interesting! I’ve never tasted aloe juice before! I’m guessing that it must taste very fresh and green.

  5. March 28, 2011 8:09 AM

    Wow, that’s interesting! I’ve never heard of Aloe juice! Might have to try some!

    • March 28, 2011 10:38 AM

      Definitely try it!!! But remember- some brands are downright nasty!! LOL.

  6. April 21, 2011 1:24 PM

    I’m going to have to try it. Maybe it’ll make my stomach feel better.
    thanks for the info!

Comments are closed.

