Skip to content

Shopping Time

March 24, 2011

Yesterday was a busy day, but it was also a fun day.

In the morning, I let Jillian kick my booty as I did level three of 30 Day Shred.  After my self-inflicted beating, I started to prepare lunch for my parents who were coming over for a visit.

After a lunch of wraps and salad, my mom and I went shopping while my father was doing some handy work in my house.  Mom and I had such a fun day of shopping.  Clearly, I got my sweet shopping skills from her.

Speaking of shopping, today was grocery shopping day.  I managed to save a boatload of money today by using coupons which was awesome.

As I was unloading my groceries, I thought back to a conversation my friend Kirsten and I had a few weeks ago.   She pointed out that our refrigerators are stocked with healthy foods and our pantries, but this is probably not the norm for most people.

My haul for the week consisted of:

Kale
Lettuce
Strawberries
Bananas
Grapefruit
Apples
Tahini
Tomatoes
Carrots
Tilapia
Puffins Original
Almond milk
Lara bars
Sprouted bread and Nature’s Pride bread
Maple syrup
Hummus
Lemons
Mushrooms
Coconut water

Sure this is “normal” for a health blogger/wellness consultant, but Kirsten made a great point.  I’ll bet that the average weekly grocery shopping trip for most Americans consists of far less produce and way more processed junk.

Do you have a lot of processed foods in your household, or does your family have a very natural clean diet? I plan to discuss this topic a bit more in the very near future.

Going back in time again…

Dinner last night was some comfort food in the form of turkey meatloaf muffins.

I’ve said it before, but I love these little things.

After dinner, we watched American Idol.  The contestants this year are amazing, but I need state that Stefano completely and utterly butchered “Hello” which is one of the very best Lionel Richie songs ever.  I was not a happy camper, and I may never get over it.  I would have given anything to have been a judge on that panel last night.  Don’t mess with my Lionel!

I’m meeting Michael for lunch today, so I am going to do my workout and get all beautified for our afternoon date. 😉

Have a great day!

6 Comments
  1. March 24, 2011 11:29 AM

    My grocery shopping isn’t quite that clean–we do have a goldfish cracker addiction–but still much better than most other people I know. I have a friend who seems to subsist on fast food, sugary cereals, and ice cream. I’ve never seen a fruit or vegetable in her house, not even a potato. It’s kind of mind boggling. I’m not all that health-conscious, I just think that fresher, more natural ingredients taste better.

    • March 24, 2011 4:10 PM

      I’ll admit that we do have Goldfish in our pantry too. I’ve tried switching to Annie’s bunny crackers because they are similar, but somehow the fish always return. 😉

  2. March 24, 2011 11:49 AM

    My fiance and son eat way different then me! SO our fridge is half healthy and half not so healthy, same with our pantry, you can spot my shelf for sure ; ) lol!

    Have a great day girl! xoxo ❤

  3. March 24, 2011 4:08 PM

    I love having a clean fridge and pantry. I just can’t imagine stocking up on all processed unhealthy foods. But considering the fact that the aisles of a lot of grocery stores are filled with just that, I know that a lot of people do just that.

  4. March 25, 2011 2:40 PM

    I just made our grocery list for today! Here’s what we’ve got going for the week:

    Spinach
    Broccoli
    Bananas
    Lettuce
    Sweet Potatoes
    Pineapple
    Mushrooms
    Green onion
    Red Onions
    Bell Peppers
    Chicken
    Goat Cheese
    Dry white beans and chickpeas
    Shredded Parmesan and Mozzarella
    Frozen blueberries
    Greek Yogurt
    Milk
    Triscuits
    Blue Corn/Flax tortilla chips

    I only eat ‘meat’ whether it’s chicken, beef, poultry or fish once a day max so I get a lot of my protein from low fat cheese and beans. The tortilla chips and triscuits are the guilty pleasures in the group, for sure.

    Nothing makes me cringe more than being in line behind someone who only has canned/packaged food. So gross!!!

    PS I just found your blog today, it’s lovely! 🙂

    • March 25, 2011 2:45 PM

      Thanks so much! 🙂 I love your list. We always have frozen blueberries in the house. They are awesome for smoothies.

Comments are closed.

