Skip to content

Butterscotch and Butternut

March 23, 2011

Good morning!

Yesterday I went into spring cleaning mode.  The windows were open, the breeze was coming through, and I cleaned my little heart away!  Part of my day was spent organizing, including organizing my spice cabinet.

During the spice cabinet clean-up, I found the bottle of butterscotch flavor that I bought from Healthy Home Market back in January.  Because I have a short attention span, I immediately stopped organizing and made a Butterscotch Cookie Milkshake instead.


This yummy frothy concoction included: 1 frozen banana, a scoop of Almond Dream vanilla ice cream, 1 tsp butterscotch flavor, 1 TB oats, 3 ice cubes, a scoop of vanilla whey protein powder, and 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk…and a sprinkling of cinnamon on top.  Amazing!
***
It was such a gorgeous day that I took Emma for a little walk through the neighborhood.  Taking walks has become a part of my daily routine.  Even short 15-20 walks are so relaxing.  Plus, it gives me the opportunity to be nosy and see what’s going on in the neighborhood.

By dinner time, I cleaned up a killer appetite.  Michael had a taco salad with leftover turkey taco meat from our dinner the night before.  Since there wasn’t enough to go around, I utilized some butternut squash and chickpeas.

The inspiration for the recipe came from here, and it was a winner!  Obviously, I substituted butternut squash for the sweet potato Angela used in her recipe.  I also added some broccoli spears and poured the yummy concoction on top of cooked mushrooms and a bed of fresh greens.
It was a day of good eating!  And to continue the “butter” theme of the day, I unwrapped a stick of butter and bit right into it for dessert! 

Just kidding, people. 😉

My parents are coming over for lunch today, so I am going to make some wraps.  I’ll share the details with you tomorrow, of course.

Enjoy your day!



4 Comments
  1. March 23, 2011 8:38 AM

    Oh wait, you don’t eat sticks of butter for dessert? 😉 That smoothie sounds great!! Putting on my recipe list ASAP.

    • March 23, 2011 7:45 PM

      I only eat them sometimes. 😉 You seriously have to make this smoothie. It’s really amazing!

  2. March 23, 2011 7:44 PM

    I love the smoothie combo! Butterscoth would be amazing!! I hope you are wonderful love!! xoxo ❤

    • March 23, 2011 7:46 PM

      Even my dad liked it! Of course, he didn’t drink it without asking me if there was “any funny stuff like soy” in it first. Haha. Hope you have a great night! 🙂

Comments are closed.

