Skip to content

Crispy and Sweet

March 16, 2011

Greetings earthlings!

(That was my attempt at starting this post with something other than “good morning” or “hello”, but I don’t think I’ll stick with it.)

Michael was out of town last night on business, so I was on my own for dinner.

I thought about takeout but then my thoughts turned to salmon.  I am sure you’ve noticed that I love me some salmon.

I was in the mood for something crispy as well and decided against following a recipe.   Instead I set out to make my own crispy salmon.

To achieve the ultimate level of crispiness, I seasoned one skinless salmon fillet with sea salt, pepper, and garlic salt.  Next I drizzled about 1/2 teaspoon of melted Earth Balance onto one side and then another 1/2 teaspoon on the other.  Then I sprinkled approximately 1- 1.5 tablespoons of panko crumbs on each side mixed with 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar.  The salmon was then broiled in the oven for about 14 minutes.

I’ll admit that I was a little apprehensive when I put this in the oven, but it was really good!  This salmon tasted like fish sticks!  It was the perfect crispy consistency I was craving.

As for a beverage, I didn’t feel like water and didn’t really feel like alcohol.  In fact, I wanted something a little carbonated and a little sweet.

Enter pomegranate seltzer water with a splash of POM Wonderful!

The rest of the night was spent watching Jersey Shore, reading the latest issue of Fitness magazine, and chilling with Emma.

Speaking of Emma, my little girl made an appearance on Tina’s blog yesterday.  Check her out (and all of the other adorable puppies too)!

I’m really excited because I have a lunch date at Zoes Kitchen today.  It is always fun to catch up with people!

Have a great day!

8 Comments
  1. March 16, 2011 1:05 PM

    Zoe’s Kitchen is really good! Have fun!

  2. March 16, 2011 2:14 PM

    Oh my goodness! I love Zoe’s! I was just in Birmingham and got to eat it twice in one week, love it!

    • March 16, 2011 4:29 PM

      There roasted veggies were so good! I’m definitely going there again. 🙂

  3. March 16, 2011 7:10 PM

    Pomegranate seltzer w/ POM Wonderful sounds so refreshing!

  4. March 16, 2011 7:35 PM

    Omgosh, LOVE the pup picture!

    • March 16, 2011 8:35 PM

      Thank you! 🙂 I couldn’t believe it when she did that and was so happy that she didn’t budge when I grabbed the camera. 🙂

  5. March 17, 2011 4:48 PM

    I saw Emma’s cute photo on CNC and had to come over and say hi. She’s adorable!

Comments are closed.

