Skip to content

So Garlicky

March 15, 2011

Hello!

I loved reading all of your comments on my post yesterday and was so happy to learn that there are other clumsy dancers out there in blog land.  Maybe we should start our own dance troop!  Or not… 😉

Last night, I was in the mood for quinoa and decided to make a quinoa salad.

Later I thought that I needed a little more color and added in some sliced cherry tomatoes.  Much prettier!

Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad

(Adapted from here)

Ingredients (for 2 servings)

1/4 cup uncooked quinoa
2/3 cup water
1/2 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained
1/2 cup broccoli florets
1/2 clove garlic, minced, or to taste
1/4 cup cherry tomatoes
1/4 cup sliced white onion
1 teaspoon coarse-grain mustard
1 tablespoon Garlic Gold Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette*
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 1/2 cups romaine lettuce
salt and black pepper to taste

*The original recipe called for olive oil and lemon juice which you can use if you don’t have Garlic Gold on hand.

  1. Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a small saucepan over high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender, and the water has been absorbed, about 15 to 20 minutes.
  2. Scrape the cooked quinoa into a mixing bowl. Add the garbanzo beans, broccoli, garlic, Garlic Gold, onion, tomato, mustard, and vinegar. Stir until evenly mixed. Season to taste with salt and black pepper before serving on a bed of lettuce.

This made my breath smell very fierce afterward, but no worries.  I cured it with popcorn.

After dinner, Michael and I watched Grease because he had never seen it before.  Can you believe it?

It took every fiber of my being not to sing along to each and every song.  Let me tell you, it was not easy to control myself!

Have you seen Grease?  What is your favorite song from the soundtrack?

I’d have to go with Greased Lightnin’, You’re The One That I Want, and Summer Nights.  I also love when Rizzo sings Look At Me I’m Sandra Dee.

Since I’ve had the songs stuck in my head all morning, I’ll leave you with this:

We go together like
rama lama lama
ke ding a de dinga a dong
remembered for ever like
shoo bop shoo wadda wadda yipitty boom de boom

Chang chang chang-it-ty chang
shoo-bop
That’s the way it should be
Wha oooh yeah!

Hopefully, you won’t end up with this stuck in your heads too.  Have a wonderful day!

6 Comments
  1. March 15, 2011 9:18 AM

    I love Grease! My favorite song has to be when Rizzo sings Look at me I’m Sandra Dee 🙂 Classic.

  2. March 15, 2011 4:16 PM

    I love GREASE!! My friends and I danced and sang to you’re the one that I want in our school talent show! 🙂

  3. March 15, 2011 9:48 PM

    So cute!!! I used to sing the songs with my friends on the school bus. 🙂

  4. March 15, 2011 10:59 PM

    I haven’t seen Grease in forever but it is such a classic! I love Summer Nights and You’re the One That Want!

  5. March 18, 2011 10:11 PM

    That looks G-O-O-D…the tomato makes it.

Comments are closed.

