Skip to content

Put on a Happy Face

March 12, 2011

Happy weekend!

I hope that it is off to a good start for all.

My trip to the DMV yesterday was a success.  In total, it took about 45 minutes to painlessly accomplish everything I needed to do.  I was pretty efficient and had all of the documentation that I needed handy in a folder (like a giant geek).

What really helped though was that I decided to make the best of it while I was there.  I chatted with the other people in line and sweet talked the older ladies in the office.  Rather than standing there with a grimace on my face because I didn’t want to be there, I decided to put on a happy face and roll with it.  It is amazing how much of a difference a positive attitude can make!

Don’t get me wrong though.  It still stunk like poop to be there. 😉

I was a little sore and lethargic yesterday, so I made myself a gigundo green smoothie.  Later in the day, I had my new favorite snack.

A Power Bowl!

These consist of a mixture of fruit sprinkled with ground flaxseed (I prefer Spectrum Essentials Organic) and cacao nibs (mentioned on my favorite things yesterday).  The nutty taste of the flaxseed really takes a regular old bowl of fruit up a notch.  Plus, it is loaded with fiber and essential fatty acids. Sometimes (if I’m feeling crazy), I also add goji berries.

It is a beautiful day in the neighborhood, so after I consume this monstrous bowl of Puffins, I am heading out to enjoy the weather.

I’m also taking my stepdaughter to see Gnomeo and Juliet later.  Should be cute!  Has anyone seen it?

Have a wonderful day!

10 Comments
  1. March 12, 2011 10:31 AM

    I miss my CEREAL!! lol! No more until after lent : p

    I heard that movie is really cute!

    Have a beautiful day! xoxo ❤

    • March 12, 2011 4:20 PM

      You’re a good woman to give up cereal. I couldn’t do it! Hope you’re having a great Saturday! 🙂

  2. ann permalink
    March 12, 2011 11:38 AM

    Yes the movie is very cute!

    • March 12, 2011 11:58 AM

      Yay! I cannot wait to see it. Though I feel guilty being indoors on such a beautiful day!

  3. March 12, 2011 2:10 PM

    That fruit looks delicious! Keep hearing about Gnomeo and Juliet, but I don’t know anything about it. That’s what happens when you don’t have a tv I guess?! 🙂

    • March 12, 2011 4:26 PM

      It was adorable! I just got back. It is basically a kid’s version of Romeo and Juliet…only happy…and with gnomes…and Elton John music. 🙂

  4. March 12, 2011 4:16 PM

    I’ve been avoiding going to the DMV but sooner or later I have to get a new license hopefully it will go as smoothly for me as it did for you! Haven’t seen Gnomeo and Juliet but can’t wait to hear how it was…I love kid movies!

    • March 12, 2011 4:27 PM

      I put off the DMV until it was inevitable. You can do it, you can do it! 🙂 The movie was adorable. I’ll definitely do a post about it tomorrow. 🙂

  5. March 13, 2011 8:33 AM

    So someone else is chatty Kathy to strangers while waiting in line, like me. 🙂 By the time I left the social security office to change my maiden name, I knew everyone’s life story who was standing around me in line, including why they were changing their name. Pretty interesting stories…

    • March 13, 2011 9:00 AM

      That’s hysterical!! I’m so glad that I’m not alone! Haha. I first went to pay my taxes and met three people there. We had all mentioned that we were heading to the DMV afterward. Well, when I walked into the DMV they were all like, “Hey!!! You made it here!” I felt like a mini celebrity. You’re right though…I heard some very interesting stories. 😉

Comments are closed.

