Skip to content

My Favorite Things

March 11, 2011

Happy Friday!

This morning, I have a confession to make.

I love the thought of having my own talk show (since I am ridiculously good at talking).  In fact, when I was a child I would sit in front of the mirror in my bedroom and pretend that I had my own show.  I’d “interview” celebrities and sometimes I’d even be the one getting interviewed.  Clearly, I needed to get a life.

Today I’ve matured slightly, and I watch Oprah on TV instead of holding fake interviews in my bathroom.  Her “favorite things” shows were always my very favorite, and I’m so sad that she had her final one already.

In honor of Ms. Winfrey, I am going to share my own favorite things with you today.

Sorry, but I cannot offer a free car at the end of this post. You’d have to pay taxes on it anyway, so I am really doing you a favor by saving you the hassle. 😉

The Ginger People Ginger Chews

Before I tried these, I hated ginger.  I even liked Maryann better on Gilligan’s Island.  But with just three ingredients (cane sugar, ginger, and tapioca starch), these babies made me fall in love with ginger.  Plus, ginger has been known to alleviate nausea and digestive issues.  Chew away!

Garlic Gold Oil

Obsessed.  I am just obsessed with this stuff.  I put it in so many things and use it to make calzones, pizza, garlic bread, and croutons.  We go through it like water in my household.  In fact, a new bottle just arrived on my doorstep today!

Diet Hansen’s Pomegranate Soda

I try to avoid drinking soda whenever possible, but I make an exception for this stuff since it doesn’t contain artificial colors or flavors, sodium, caffeine, or preservatives. When I’d drink it at work, I’d get really funny looks for some reason, and it was always a conversation starter.  I guess pomegranate soda isn’t mainstream yet.  But it is good.

Navitas Naturals Cacao Nibs

These little nuggets are an excellent source of antioxidants. I love sprinkling them on fruit with flax powder (my new favorite snack) and on smoothies.  Whenever you can incorporate some sweetness into your life, it’s a good thing.

100% Pure Vanilla Bean Body Cream

These products are awesome because they are vegan, all natural, and gluten free.  I’m literally obsessed with the vanilla bean body cream for the way it smells and feels.  It makes my skin so silky and smooth.  Sadly, I just ran out.  Looks like someone needs to make an emergency visit to Ulta…

Aveda Hand Relief

I have been using this stuff for years now.  It keeps my hands really soft and prevents them from getting too dry (which is especially appreciated during this time of year).  All you need is a pea sized amount and you’re good to go!

Well, those are my current favorites!  I plan to do this once a month, so hopefully, you liked it!

What are your current favorites?

Have a great day!

(Unfortunately, I’ll be spending mine at the DMV- the unhappiest place on earth. Boo.)

2 Comments
  1. March 11, 2011 6:47 AM

    I love cacao nibs too but I love mine in overnight oats and pancakes. 🙂 I replaced soda with flavored seltzer water which I drink all the time. It’s definitely one of my favorite things right now.

    • March 11, 2011 11:05 AM

      I actually haven’t put them in my oats or on my pancakes yet! I need to do that soon. It is funny that you mention flavored seltzer water because I just bought some yesterday for the first time in ages. I forgot how much I love it!

Comments are closed.

