Skip to content

Garbanzo Goodness

March 10, 2011

Hello!!!!

As evidenced by the last two titles of my posts, I seem to be into using the word “goodness” lately.  I’m not sure why I’ve been overusing it so much, but it reminds me of term “Carlness” from the movie You, Me & Dupree.  Saying that my garbanzos have Carlness didn’t seem to make much sense though.

Moving on…

Yesterday was a dreary rainy day, but I didn’t mind because it allowed me to focus on work. As you know, I’m starting my own health and wellness business, and there is lots to be done!

I’m really excited because I hired a new web designer who is also going to assist with my branding and logo. There may even be a mini makeover for TGS. 😉  Anyway, I spent some time talking to the designer yesterday and doing some research.

Later in the day, I decided to make something from my Super Natural Cooking cookbook.

Hello, Sprouted Garbanzo Burgers!

When dinner time rolled around, I made a turkey burger for Michael and dressed one of these babies up for myself in onions, avocado, and sprouts.

I absolutely love incorporating beans into my diet whenever possible since they are among the best fiber foods you can eat.  Just a half cup of chickpeas has 6 grams of fiber.

Fiber has been shown to decrease colon cancer risk, and consuming high fiber foods (such as cereal, fruit, vegetables, grains, and legumes) can assist in weight loss since they are so filling and may cause people to eat less.

Just don’t over do it on the beans- your spouse, significant other, roommates, friends, pets, etc. will thank you, if you catch my drift.  😉

***

Today is grocery shopping day, so I’ll be hitting up Trader Joe’s.  I’m considering picking up something new that I haven’t tried before (maybe from the nuts and dried fruit section).

Any suggestions?

Have a good one!

6 Comments
  1. March 10, 2011 8:19 AM

    I’ve bought frozen food at TJ’s and I haven’t been disappointed (frozen food = grad student diet). I recently bought some frozen quinoa, and it was quite tasty!

    • March 10, 2011 7:35 PM

      I had no idea that they sold frozen quinoa! I’ll have to look for it next time. Thanks for letting me know! 🙂

  2. March 10, 2011 2:04 PM

    Mm, garbanzo bean burgers sound so good right now! This makes me so glad that I have garbanzo beans packed in my lunch–but I definitely won’t overdo it on the beans! 😉

  3. March 10, 2011 5:35 PM

    these sound tasty, and look great too! that looks perfect to me – simple onion + sprouts on top. YUM!

    • March 10, 2011 7:34 PM

      Yep- it was so simple, but sometimes those are the best! 🙂 The recipe made a ton too, so I had leftovers tonight!

Comments are closed.

