Skip to content

Bready Goodness

March 9, 2011

Happy Hump Day!

It is going to be a rainy one here in Charlotte. I love days like this, but I was hoping to use the sunroof in the fun loaner car I got yesterday while my car is being serviced.  Maybe I’ll just ask them to let me keep the car. 😉

Last night, I made an old favorite in my household…

BLT Bread Cups!

These are ridiculously simple and ridiculously good (mainly because they are clobbered in guacamole).

BLT Bread Cups

Ingredients
6 slices of whole grain bread
1 cup chopped romaine lettuce
1/3 cup sliced cherry tomatoes
4 slices turkey bacon (cooked and crumbled)
Holy Moly Guacamole (see recipe for ingredients)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Cut the crust off the bread slices and use a rolling pin to flatten out each slice individually.  Coat a muffin tin with cooking spray and press the flattened bread into the tins. Allow to bake for approximately 6 minutes (or until browned).  Remove muffin tin from the oven and allow the cups to cool.  Prepare the guacamole and then add lettuce, tomatoes, and turkey bacon.  Mix all ingredients together and scoop into each bread cup.

This makes 6 servings.  Enjoy!

***

One of my greatest food weaknesses is bagels.  However, I try to eat them in moderation because my body goes into carb overload aftershock if I eat them too much.

But when I saw Udi’s bagels at Earth Fare over the weekend, I knew that I had to try them!

This morning, I toasted half a whole grain bagel and topped it with Earth Balance, sliced banana, raw honey, and chia seeds.

I’ll be honest… this bagel doesn’t hold a candle to my beloved whole grain Panera bagel, but it was still pretty good (not to mention healthier).

***

Thanks to everyone for entering my LUNA bar giveaway.  Per the very official husband number generator, the winner is Meagan!   Meagan- please send me an email (easturner@gmail.com), so I can get your information and mail your package.  🙂

Have a great day everyone!

14 Comments
  1. March 9, 2011 8:26 AM

    Those bread cups look fantastic! It’s going to be a cold and rainy day here in DC, too. Come onnn, spring!! 😉

    • March 9, 2011 7:58 PM

      I’m definitely doing my springtime happy dance. I want to wear shorts!

  2. March 9, 2011 8:38 AM

    Those bread things look so good!!!!!

    Its raining her today : p

    Hope you have a great day love ! xoxo ❤

    • March 9, 2011 7:57 PM

      I feel like it was raining everywhere today! Hope you had a great day too! 🙂

  3. March 9, 2011 10:55 AM

    What a cute idea! BLT’s are a summer staple in my house ans this is a perfect spin. I can’t wait to give them a try!

    • March 9, 2011 11:09 AM

      If you try them, let me know how you like them! 🙂 They really are cute little things.

  4. March 9, 2011 3:49 PM

    I love those little cups! I could make them with some tempeh bacon-yum! 🙂

    • March 9, 2011 7:58 PM

      Great idea!!! I am sure that these little babies are pretty adaptable. I thought of incorporating salsa too.

  5. March 9, 2011 5:04 PM

    I second you on loving bagels! I only eat real bagels as treats also and stick with bagel thins or alternative bagels. The BLT cups look so yummy! I’ll have to try them with some ‘fakin, as my boyfriend calls it!

    • March 9, 2011 7:59 PM

      Bagels are so addicting! My favorites are doughy, so I hear you on the bagel thins. They are the only way of keeping me under control. 😉

  6. March 9, 2011 10:05 PM

    you know you’re a good photographer when you can make a simple bagel w/ banana slices look delicious! 🙂

    • March 10, 2011 7:19 AM

      Your comment totally made my night! I’ve been working hard on my photography skills. 🙂

  7. Michelle permalink
    March 15, 2011 4:40 PM

    I’m finally catching up on all the fun posts I missed while work took over my life but wow these look amazing!!

    • March 15, 2011 6:03 PM

      Hey you! 🙂 They are super easy to make. Definitely try them! 🙂

Comments are closed.

