Skip to content

The Best Salmon Ever

March 7, 2011
tags:

Last night, Michael was out of town, so we didn’t have our usual steak, wine, and popcorn Sunday.

Since the tradition isn’t the same without him, I made a modification.

Bring on the salmon!

I found the original recipe here, and after reading some of the reviews, I decided to modify the recipe based on one reviewer’s recommendation.  The result?

This is potentially the best salmon that I’ve ever had- and I’ve had A LOT of salmon!  It was so flavorful and moist…and just pure deliciousness.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

(Adapted from here)

Ingredients (for one serving)
1 tablespoon packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1 (6 ounce) boneless salmon fillet
½ teaspoon whiskey
¼ teaspoon lemon juice
½ garlic clove

Preheat the oven’s broiler and prepare the rack of a broiler pan with cooking spray. Whisk together the brown sugar, Dijon mustard, lemon juice, whiskey, and garlic in a small bowl; spoon mixture evenly onto top of salmon fillets. Cook under the preheated broiler until the fish flakes easily with a fork, 10 to 15 minutes.

The mushrooms were cooked in minced garlic and soy sauce and were also very yummy.

After my dinner for one, I watched Life As We Know It and had some popcorn (which I shared with Emma).  The movie got poor reviews, but I thought it was cute!

***

This morning, I knew that I wanted oatmeal and decided to clobber it with nearly every piece of fruit in the house.

After I finish this bowl of fruity oatmeal, I’m off to tackle my to do list.

Have a great day!

11 Comments
  1. March 7, 2011 9:18 AM

    The fruit bowl looks fantastic! I’m drooling at work over it! 🙂

    • March 7, 2011 9:23 AM

      It was really good! I ate it too fast and want to eat it all over again! 🙂

  2. March 7, 2011 9:26 AM

    My mom makes something very similar for salmon – I LOVE it!! 🙂

  3. March 7, 2011 9:32 AM

    That sounds delish. I bought a huge piece of salmon for my husband and I to eat today. I usually make ours with just a few spices and a bit of lemon. I think I will do this today and sub honey for the sugar.

    • March 7, 2011 10:08 AM

      The honey would probably be great too! I thought of using it, but at the last moment, I decided to try it another time. Let me know how it works! 🙂

  4. March 7, 2011 11:43 AM

    I have salmon on the menu tonight, I may just have to give this recipe a try (minus the whiskey, since we don’t have any).

    • March 7, 2011 11:45 AM

      Definitely try it! The original recipe called for just the Dijon and brown sugar, if that helps. 🙂

  5. March 7, 2011 1:11 PM

    Sometimes it’s really nice to make a nice meal all for yourself. 🙂

    • March 7, 2011 3:29 PM

      I totally agree. It was kind of fun treating myself to a nice meal. 🙂

  6. March 7, 2011 2:47 PM

    Hi there! I just found your blog. That Salmon look phenomenal. I have salmon at home I”ve been meaning to cook. Love your pink bowl too!

    • March 7, 2011 3:28 PM

      Hi! I am so glad that you found me. 🙂 You won’t be sorry if you try the salmon recipe. It’s awesome!

Comments are closed.

