Skip to content

Bar Happy

March 6, 2011

Even though it was a rainy nasty day, I ventured out of the house to meet my friend Kirsten at Dean & Deluca for lunch (after doing an awesome Zumba workout on DVD).

We both got salads with tons of veggies and shrimp.  The server gave me an extra shrimp because he liked my salad bar enthusiasm and the fact that I ordered with a smile.

What can I say?  Salad bars excite me.

That extra shrimp must have weighed 5 pounds because my total at checkout was $16!

To be fair, the total did include a granola bar that I’ve been dying to try.

After some fun girl talk, I headed on home and made mini cashew cookie Larabars.

These little buggers are so simple to make and only involve two ingredients: dates and cashews.

I used 16 ounces of dates and 8 ounces of cashews.  The cashews were chopped in a food processor until crumbly.  The pitted dates were put in the microwave for 15 seconds and then mashed with a potato masher.  The cashews were then added to the dates and mixed together with my hands.  It got very sticky!

Once the dates and nuts were combined, I put them in a mini bread pan , turned the pan upside down, and cut the block into 4 mini bars.  I repeated this a second time with the remaining mixture and then put them all in snack bags.

Once I discovered Sex and the City reruns on the E! channel, I settled comfortably on my couch and wrapped myself up in my Slanket with some tea.

A perfect Sunday.  I hope you enjoyed yours as well!

(Remember to enter my Luna Bar giveaway!)

2 Comments
  1. March 6, 2011 6:46 PM

    Those 18 rabbit bars ROCK! But are so expensive ; ) so cool you made your own, they are simple to make with such short ingredients! Hope your Sunday night is wonderful ! xoxo ❤

    • March 6, 2011 10:56 PM

      Yeah the granola bar was good…but at that price tag, it might have to be my last! 😉

Comments are closed.

