Skip to content

Sweet Butternut Heaven

March 3, 2011

Good morning!

Last night, I utilized the remains of a butternut squash by making a recipe from Natalia Rose’s Detox 4 Women book.  As you may have noticed, I like throwing things on top of vegetables, and that is where these suckers went (along with a veggie patty from Earth Fare).

Sweet Butternut Heaven

(Source)

Ingredients
3 cups cubed butternut squash
1-2 packets Stevia (for added sweetness)
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I also added 1 tsp cinnamon)
2 tsp organic butter (I used Earth Balance)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a mixing bowl, mix all of the ingredients well and then place them evenly distributed in a baking dish.  Bake uncovered for about 35 minutes or until they are soft and brown on the edges.

I absolutely love butternut squash.  Aside from its great taste, it provides significant amounts of potassium (for bone health), vitamin B6, and folate.  It is also a great source of fiber.

*****

Today is an exciting day because we’re having all new kitchen appliances delivered.  Woo to the hoo!

The only bummer is that I really wanted an egg sandwich this morning for breakfast, but in case the delivery truck shows up, we cannot use our old appliances right now.

I briefly considered making a fire pit in the backyard to cook my egg, but I rocked the Puffins original with chia seeds, banana slices, strawberries, and blueberries instead.  I’m pretty sure that Michael will appreciate my decision.

Stay tuned for some before and after photos of my kitchen soon!

And don’t forget to enter my LUNA bar giveaway.  You have four different ways to participate to increase your chances of winning.  I just might sneak some extra fun stuff in the package for the winner. 😉

Have a great day!

6 Comments
  1. narrowgatewellness permalink
    March 3, 2011 8:54 AM

    As a fellow butternut groupie, I’m excited to try this. It sounds way yummy! I still haven’t made the tofu butternut dish, but that is also on my radar!

    • March 3, 2011 8:55 AM

      As I was updating my recipe page today, I realized that I have a slight butternut squash obsession!

      • narrowgatewellness permalink
        March 3, 2011 9:43 AM

        I totally get it. Bring me a bowl of butternut squash soup with a side of pumpkin soup and life is good!

  2. March 3, 2011 8:57 AM

    I’ve never made butternut squash before…i’m not even sure If I’ve eaten it before? But it sure does look and sound yummy!

  3. healthdivaeats permalink
    March 3, 2011 3:56 PM

    Butternut squash is so GOOD!!!

    Yay for new kitchen appliances!

    and yes nightmares are the worst : p

Comments are closed.

