Skip to content

Review Time and Giveaway

March 2, 2011

I’m back from my day of beauty!

Since there was so much interest in my keratin hair treatment post, I thought that I’d share a few more details about it.

One very annoying thing that I forgot to mention is that you cannot tuck or pull back your hair during the three days of processing.  It drives me bananas!!!

However, you can wear these little Velcro-like hair grips around the house to keep the hair out of your face.  They look ridiculous.  Michael calls them my wings because they stick straight out to the side.  I am sure that they are very attractive. 😉

Despite the temporary inconvenience, the treatment makes my hair so smooth and frizz-free.  I can see how this would literally be life-changing for someone who has unruly hair.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask! 🙂

That takes care of my beauty review…now on to the food review!

As you know, I love eating nutrition bars, so when the nice people at Clif Bar & Company sent me some new LUNA bars to sample, I was ecstatic!

I also seem to be ecstatic a lot.

The first flavor that I tried was Chocolate Dipped Coconut.  It was truly amazing.  I felt like I was eating a cookie (a Girl Scout Samoa cookie to be exact) or a macaroon rather than a nutrition bar.  It contains 9 grams of protein and is rich in folate, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12 (just to name a few).  Dare I say, I like this even more than my beloved White Chocolate Macadamia.

Half of the bar somehow made its way into my mouth before I snapped the photo…

The second flavor that I sampled was Chocolate Chunk.

It looks just like a granola bar and lives up to its name with all of those chunks of chocolate.  What I loved most was that there was chocolate in every single bite.  Plus, it is rich in the same nutrients as the Chocolate Dipped Coconut bar.

If you’re a nutrition bar nut like me, I highly recommend both of these flavors.  In fact, LUNA sent me a sample of each new flavor, Chocolate Dipped Coconut and Chocolate Chunk, for one lucky reader of TGS.

You can enter for a chance to win by:

  • Visiting the LUNA website and posting a comment on this blog telling me what other flavors you’d like to try;
  • Becoming a fan of LUNA on Facebook (and be sure to post a comment here telling me that you did);
  • Posting this giveaway on Twitter
  • Linking to this giveaway on your blog

The winner will be announced next Wednesday.  Good luck and good night! 🙂

51 Comments
  1. March 2, 2011 8:02 PM

    I just tried that chocolate chunk and I am in LOVE!!! I bought it when I was back home last week and could kick myself for not buying more! I can not find that flavor here!

    I am dying to have it in my belly again! lol!

    p.s. the keratin rocks! I get that done too!!!!

    • March 2, 2011 8:07 PM

      I love the keratin, but I am already going crazy with the greasiness. I want to wash my hair! I’ll need moral support to make it until Friday. 🙂

  2. March 2, 2011 8:09 PM

    I’ve been looking for the coconut flavor everywhere and have already tried all Luna Bar flavors. My current favorite is chocolate peppermint, with chocolate brownie coming in a close second.

  3. March 2, 2011 8:09 PM

    I tweeted!

  4. March 2, 2011 8:10 PM

    I just linked to it on my blog which will go up at 9 pm.

  5. March 2, 2011 8:11 PM

    I liked Luna Bar on Facebook! And I just got an error message saying I’m commenting too quickly. haha.

  6. March 2, 2011 8:30 PM

    Have you ever had a PB&J luna bar?? I read somewhere they made them but have never seen one! I need to check out that coconut one though…that looks yummy!

    • March 2, 2011 8:31 PM

      OMG! I have never tried that one! I know that Larabar makes a PB&J flavor and it is really good though. 🙂

  7. Danielle permalink
    March 2, 2011 10:09 PM

    I’d like to try the Luna protein bars!

  8. jenny permalink
    March 2, 2011 10:40 PM

    Luna Bar flavors I’d love to sample: COOKIE DOUGH & Chocolate PB… However, the new coconut flavor really sounds amazing!! I’m a sucker for coconut anything…

    • March 2, 2011 11:15 PM

      So am I! And I’d love the Cookie Dough too. I’ve never had it before!

  9. March 2, 2011 11:06 PM

    I would love to try the new bars, but they are NOT available where I live right now. I have also been looking for the White Chocolate Macadamia, but no luck yet. I will have to keep looking. 🙂

  10. March 2, 2011 11:08 PM

    I liked Luna Bars on Facebook! 🙂

  11. Jessica permalink
    March 3, 2011 7:04 AM

    chocolate coconut is the only luna flavor i haven’t tried yet…can’t find it anywhere!

  12. Jessica permalink
    March 3, 2011 7:05 AM

    i’m now a fan of luna on facebook!

  13. Allison permalink
    March 3, 2011 7:34 AM

    I’ve tried all the flavors, I rushed to Whole Foods to get the new ones! But as seen in my (and the fiance’s) Luna obsession, we would always welcome some more bars to “try” 😉 I love, love, love the chocolate dipped coconut & just tried white chocolate macadamian nut (first time even trying anything macadamian nut)- awesome!

  14. Allison permalink
    March 3, 2011 7:35 AM

    I also “liked” Luna on FB a while ago, check that off the list!

  15. March 3, 2011 8:20 AM

    I’m a fan of Luna on Facebook!

  16. March 3, 2011 8:21 AM

    Ahhh, I totally want to try the chocolate dipped coconut! I LOVE chocolate and coconut together. It might take over as my new favorite, although I have serious love for the Chocolate Raspberry bars 😉

  17. March 3, 2011 8:56 AM

    I love Chocolate Dipped Coconut, White Chocolate Macadamia, and Iced Oatmeal Raisin. Is it weird though if i tell you I can only eat half at a time? They are so rich and delicious that’s all I can handle!

    • March 3, 2011 8:57 AM

      Haha. It isn’t weird at all…although I now feel a little bit like a piglet since I can gobble up a whole entire bar in less than 60 seconds! 😉

  18. March 3, 2011 8:57 AM

    I also liked them on FB=)

  19. March 3, 2011 1:59 PM

    I’ve been dying to try the chocolate dipped coconut!! I also want to try the chocolate raspberry! 🙂

  20. March 3, 2011 2:32 PM

    I LOVE Luna Bars! But I am only allowed to “like” them on Facebook! Added them to my list of “likes” 🙂 Visited the Luna Website too and am baffled I have never tried Lemon Zest–what the heck have I been doing, I LOVE Lemon bars!!

  21. Alison permalink
    March 3, 2011 4:17 PM

    Yum I have had the chocolate coconut one and it is AMAZING! I would like to try Vanilla Almond… although I am so tempted to say chocolate coconut again because it was that good!

    • March 3, 2011 9:07 PM

      I agree. I love LUNA bars, but Chocolate Coconut is the best by far!

  22. Ann C permalink
    March 3, 2011 10:14 PM

    For me, it’s all about chocolate raspberry. YUM!

    • March 3, 2011 10:55 PM

      I don’t think I’ve had that one before! I need to find it! 🙂

  23. March 4, 2011 12:15 PM

    I tweeted 🙂

  24. March 4, 2011 12:15 PM

    Annnnd, I would love to try the s’mores kind. I’m obsessed with s’mores!!

  25. Meagan permalink
    March 4, 2011 11:46 PM

    I *love* the White Chocolate Macadamia flavor!

  26. Meagan permalink
    March 4, 2011 11:47 PM

    Tweeted! @vivalameaganx3

  27. Meagan permalink
    March 4, 2011 11:47 PM

    I’m a fan of Luna on Facebook!

  28. ikkinlala permalink
    March 5, 2011 11:50 AM

    May Canadians enter? I’d love to try the Chocolate Peppermint.

  29. March 6, 2011 11:33 AM

    Yah to Canadians! I would love the chance to try the Berry Almond! Yummy! I really like that there are 9 g of protein in it! I was already a fan on facebook!

  30. March 6, 2011 2:05 PM

    I’m a fan on facebook! the S’mores are really great! (I buy the minis only)

    • March 6, 2011 2:18 PM

      The minis are a perfect snack! I sometimes get them by the box at Target.

  31. 14yearoldvegan permalink
    March 6, 2011 5:06 PM

    Mm definetly chooclate dipped coconut! Those are my alltime favorite

  32. Abby permalink
    March 7, 2011 3:56 PM

    I’d love to try the Chocolate Peppermint

  33. Abby permalink
    March 7, 2011 3:57 PM

    liked them on FB 🙂

  34. Abby permalink
    March 7, 2011 3:57 PM

    tweeted 🙂

  35. April 21, 2011 1:38 PM

    you are the 3rd oe 4th person to say that about the Luna bar tasting like a samoa! I must get one!

Trackbacks

  1. Fancy pants | Foodie Fresh

Comments are closed.

