Skip to content

Beauty Day

March 2, 2011

I’m getting beautified today!

I’ve had the keratin hair treatment twice before and desperately need it again, so I’ll be at Modern Salon for about three hours today.

There are pros and cons to the treatment.  One of the pros is that I can walk out into the rain without looking like this:

It also cuts down on the amount of time that I need to spend on my hair each morning, so I am not wasting precious minutes of my life all for the sake of a good hair day.

The cons are that it is a bit expensive (although it lasts for about five months on me).  I also cannot wash my hair for 3 days after the treatment in order to allow it to soak in (or whatever the technical term is for it).  By the second day, I am usually begging to wash my hair!   You also have to use a special shampoo for keratin treatments which can be a PITA.  I forgot to bring my shampoo to Hilton Head last summer, and Michael and I had to go on an island wide search for a bottle.

Despite some of the negatives, I am really excited to have it done again.  Plus, I love the girls at the salon.  They hug me and tell me that they love me when I walk in the door.  It might be because I am about to drop so much money on the treatment, but I prefer to think that they just like me.

Because sitting in a chair while someone pampers you for three hours is such hard work, I figured that I’d make myself a power breakfast this morning. 😉

It is important to do something for ourselves every so often- whether it is a trip to the salon, a manicure, buying a new book, or getting some tea from Starbucks.

What is your favorite way to pamper yourself?  I love getting a new magazine and painting my nails while watching a chick flick.

Have a great day! I’ll check in later! 🙂

8 Comments
  1. March 2, 2011 8:39 AM

    Ok, you have to tell me more about this Keratin thing this weekend. I’ve been hearing about it everywhere!

    • March 2, 2011 8:50 AM

      Will do! 🙂 I can even recommend the girl who does mine. Love her!

  2. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries permalink
    March 2, 2011 9:46 AM

    I’ve heard so many great things about this hair treatment! I like to pamper myself with a manicure/pedicure 🙂 enjoy your day!

  3. March 2, 2011 9:57 AM

    I’ve always wanted to know more about the Keratin treatment… I never knew anyone who had tried it. Thanks for sharing this!

    Oh, and that breakfast looks AMAZING. I think I’m going to have to go buy some fresh berries when I get home!

    • March 2, 2011 12:21 PM

      You’re welcome! I have some more info that I’ll share later on today. 🙂

  4. March 2, 2011 4:39 PM

    My hair is straight straight straight, so I’m not sure I need something like that. I’ve heard it works miracles for curly-haired gals. Which Modern do you go to? I go to the one at Metropolitan.

    • March 2, 2011 4:45 PM

      It can also help with frizz, but you don’t look like you have that issue. 🙂 I go to the one in Ballantyne. I used to go to the one uptown when I worked in that area.

  5. March 2, 2011 7:52 PM

    I’m right there with you on the chick flicks…love them! I guess I don’t pamper myself too much though, I really want to get a massage I’ve been feeling like I’ve needed one since about October!

Comments are closed.

