Skip to content

Things that end in “cake”

March 1, 2011

Over the course of the past 24 hours, I have consumed salmon cakes and pancakes…but unfortunately, no real cake or cupcakes. Boo.

Last night, Michael and I had salmon cakes with dill sauce for dinner.  I absolutely love salmon and count it as one of my favorite foods.  I’d eat it everyday if only it were not so darn expensive.

The good news about salmon cakes is that you can use canned salmon which is roughly a dollar per can at most grocery stores.  Woo to the hoo!

Salmon Cakes

Ingredients
8 oz of canned salmon
1 egg white
2 TB Vegenaise (mayo would work too)
¼ cup Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
1 TB chopped parsley
¼ cup diced red pepper
2 TB shredded cheese (I use mixed Italian blend)
2 tsp fresh lemon juice

Mix all ingredients together and form into 4 equal patties. (Side note: I make my patties before adding the cheese since I cannot eat cheese.  Once mine are made, I set them aside, add the cheese to the remaining mixture and form 2 additional patties for Michael.) Spray skillet with cooking spray and heat patties over medium heat until browned on both sides and heated through.

For the dill sauce:
1/4 cup Vegenaise (mayo would work too)
1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt
1 TB lemon juice
1 TB finely chopped fresh dill or parsley
Freshly ground pepper (to taste)

Combine Vegenaise, yogurt, lemon juice, dill (or parsley) and pepper in a small bowl and mix well. Serve on top of salmon cakes.

Michael had his with free mashed potatoes from Earth Fare (love that store), Trader Joe’s creamed spinach, and a side salad.  Mine was served on the world’s largest plate of vegetables along with a sweet potato (also one of my favorite foods).

As I mentioned earlier, today is dear old dad’s birthday, so I met up with him and my cute little mama at Big View Diner for breakfast.  They had blueberry pancakes and I had buckwheat pancakes.  They were HUGE!  Definitely the ultimate hunger buster. 🙂

Question: What is your favorite food ending in “cake”?  As you may have guessed, I also love cupcakes.

If you’re looking for something to read, check out this article that my friend Kirsten passed along to me.  It is an interesting take on McDonald’s oatmeal.

Have a nice rest of the afternoon and evening!

6 Comments
  1. March 1, 2011 3:38 PM

    I read and enjoyed that oatmeal article too. My husband loves McDonalds but I would be just fine and dandy if I never ate there again.

    My favorite food ending in cake is cupcake too, but it’s really all about the icing! 🙂

  2. March 1, 2011 4:44 PM

    My favorite thing ending in “cake” is, well – cake 🙂 So glad I found your blog!

    • March 1, 2011 4:46 PM

      You cannot beat cake! 🙂 I’m glad that you found me too! 😉

  3. March 1, 2011 9:16 PM

    Cupcakes! Hands down. 🙂

  4. March 2, 2011 7:46 AM

    I need to try your salmon cake recipe, those sound good! I haven’t been to Big View Diner yet, but I see it every time I take the back way to Ballantyne, and really want to try it! Maybe we can meet there some time 🙂

    • March 2, 2011 8:33 AM

      Absolutely! 🙂 It isn’t the fanciest place, but they literally have something for everyone on the menu. Yesterday was the first time that I had breakfast there.

Comments are closed.

