Skip to content

All Wrapped Up

February 28, 2011

I hope that everyone had a great day!

Today I confirmed something about myself today that I already knew to be true.

I stink at relaxing.

Rather than taking it easy today, I was far too productive.

One of the accomplishments of my day was making tuna salad for Michael’s lunches this week.

Michael used to go out every single weekday for lunch, but since I’ve started packing his lunches, he has lost weight, and we’ve saved a boatload of money.

Plus, he claims that my lunches taste better than his takeout meals.  Smart man. 😉

This tuna salad is ridiculously simple to whip up and tastes awesome in a wrap.

Tuna Salad Wraps

Ingredients
6-ounce can of tuna, drained
2 TB pickle relish (dill or sweet)
2 TB mayonnaise (I use Vegenaise)
1 TB chopped parsley
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/8 tsp black pepper
4 whole wheat tortillas

In a small bowl, combine the tuna and relish. Add the mayo and parsley and combine. Season with the salt and pepper. Divide the salad among 4 whole wheat tortillas.  Add lettuce and tomato (optional) and roll into a wrap.  Cut in half and serve.

Do you bring your own lunches to work, or do you go out to eat?  What is your favorite thing to pack for lunch?

Have a nice evening!

15 Comments
  1. February 28, 2011 6:27 PM

    I pretty much pack my lunch every single day. I love homemade soup because typically I’ve made it the night before and it always tastes better when it has spent the evening in the fridge. Hope you can find some time to relax before you begin your new job!

    • February 28, 2011 8:02 PM

      Thank you! I am going to try to relax some tomorrow, but we’ll see how it goes… 🙂 Soup is a great idea for lunches! And once it is all made, there is no assembly required which I love…just dump it into a container and go!

  2. February 28, 2011 7:05 PM

    I’m at college, so I do a mix of eating on campus and eating in my room.
    At least there is an upside to not being able to relax!

  3. February 28, 2011 7:19 PM

    I bring my lunches because it’s expensive to eat out, and way to bad for you for the lack of flavor you get. Plus-after I get back from eating out, I always feel terrible. Low energy and bloated!

    • February 28, 2011 8:03 PM

      Yes! The post-lunch bloat is never fun. I always hated when co-workers would want to go out for these huge lunches because I’d come back to my desk and want to take a nap!

  4. February 28, 2011 7:22 PM

    I’m a teacher and work at 2 schools, so I have to pack my lunch every day. I doubt that I would eat the school lunch even if I could though. The school lunches are the “good kid foods,” but they’re so unhealthy! I love peanut butter and banana sandwiches, and also I’m on an edamame kick too.

    • February 28, 2011 8:00 PM

      It is amazing how unhealthy the lunches can be at schools, isn’t it? My husband told me that we can eat lunch at school with my stepdaughter, but we’d have to eat what she eats from the lunch line. I told him that I’d eat beforehand! 😉

  5. February 28, 2011 8:56 PM

    I’m at home for lunch so I always prepare it. I’m on a huge egg sandwich kick these days. Can’t get over them.

    Loved your guest post on Chelsey’s blog!

    • February 28, 2011 8:57 PM

      Love egg sandwiches! They are so easy and so good. I’m glad that you liked my guest post! 🙂

  6. February 28, 2011 9:06 PM

    I used to go out to eat allll the time! I can’t help but think about it now and go “I wonder how much MONEY I could have saved!!” Ohhh well 😉
    And I hear you on the relaxing thing. In my head I always think “oh, yeah, day off – I’ll relax!” but more often than not, I have to find something to get involved in. Except lately…and I’ve been bored to tears.

  7. February 28, 2011 9:19 PM

    Your guest post is up if you want to direct everyone over! 🙂

    • February 28, 2011 9:20 PM

      They’ve been coming! 🙂 I put up the link on Twitter and plan to link to it again in my morning post. Thanks, Chelsey! 🙂

  8. March 1, 2011 1:12 AM

    “I stink at relaxing!” haha–I think I would be more productive if I wasn’t such a good relaxer! 😉

  9. March 1, 2011 7:58 AM

    Thats awesome you pack his lunch, I agree homemade is always better!

    • March 1, 2011 8:12 AM

      I just sent him off on his way with his wrap. It feels like sending a kid off to school! Haha.

Comments are closed.

