Skip to content

Love Me Tender

February 26, 2011

When I got home from my final day at work yesterday, I was starving and ready to attack that Blueberry Muffin Larabar I had purposely been saving. And attack I did!

The verdict?  I loved it!  The texture was different than some of the other flavors (maybe mushier?).  In any case, it was great.  It really did taste like blueberry. Imagine that! 😉

I didn’t do anything too exciting with my afternoon of freedom other than making croutons…if you want to call that exciting.

These are so simple to make.  I just cut up about 4 slices of stale bread, toss them in 1/4 cup Garlic Gold oil, sprinkle them with sea salt and Parmesan, and bake them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 5 minutes.  The result is fresh, crispy, homemade croutons!

Dinner was a fun Friday night meal of healthy chicken tenders using panko crumbs.  Michael and I love these things.  I also made honey mustard dipping sauce.

Healthy Chicken Tenders

Ingredients
1 ½ lbs. boneless skinless chicken breasts or breast tenders
1 ½ cups panko breadcrumbs
2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp Garlic Gold Nuggets
½ tsp chili powder
½ tsp kosher salt
½ tsp ground black pepper
2 egg whites
½ cup flour

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Season the flour with salt and black pepper, and lightly beat the eggs in a shallow dish. In another shallow dish, combine panko breadcrumbs with basil, chili powder, Garlic Gold nuggets,  salt, and pepper.

If using chicken breasts, prepare by putting one breast in between two layers of plastic wrap. Pound to an even thickness of approximately 1/2″. Remove plastic and slice into strips.

Dredge tenders in the flour to coat, shaking off any excess flour. Dip the floured chicken tenders into the egg and then coat the chicken tenders with the breadcrumb mixture. Arrange on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Repeat with remaining strips.

Bake chicken tenders for 15-17 minutes, or until golden brown, flipping once part way through the cook time.

For the dipping sauce:
1/4 cup Vegenaise (you can also use regular mayo)
1 1/2 TB Dijon mustard
1 TB honey
1/2 TB lemon juice

In a small bowl, whisk together the Vegenaise, mustard, honey, and lemon juice. Store covered in the refrigerator.

I added my tenders to a salad consisting of romaine lettuce, hard-boiled egg, black olives, tomato, cucumber, mushrooms, onions, and sweet potato.

It was a very good dinner and relatively easy to make.

However, I am really excited that I don’t have to cook tonight.  Michael and I are going out for a casual dinner to celebrate the end of my job and the beginning of my new career!

Do you cook on the weekends or do you usually go out to eat?

Have a wonderful Saturday!

2 Comments
  1. February 26, 2011 9:57 PM

    Larabars are my fave type of bars!
    I love trying new restaurants on the weekends, but I also love baking. 🙂

    • February 27, 2011 4:23 PM

      The weekends are a perfect time to bake. The only problem is that then you’re at home with all of that tempting food! 🙂

Comments are closed.

