Skip to content

Something For Everyone

February 24, 2011

Happy Thursday!

I hope that everyone is having a great week.  As a reminder, it is National Eating Disorder Awareness Week.  For more information, please be sure to visit the official NEDA website.

*****

The highlight of my week so far has been discovering this at Earth Fare.

A Blueberry Muffin Larabar!  I’ve been absolutely dying to get my hands on one since they were released.

Believe it or not, I haven’t gobbled this baby up yet.  I am purposely saving it for tomorrow as my special “Congratulations, you’re finally done with your job” treat.

Last night, I made quesadillas for Michael and a giant salad for me.  I skipped out on the quesadillas since I cannot eat cheese.

Quesadillas without cheese are like Snooki without her poof.

I’ve been making these quesadillas for awhile now, and Michael loves them.

Since I follow the recipe exactly without modifications, you can check it out here.

We also had some of my yummy guacamole with tortilla chips.

My dinner consisted of romaine lettuce, hard boiled egg, avocado slices, mushrooms, broccoli, black beans, tomato, sweet potato, and onions.

It is basically a recipe for severe gas and bloating (though somehow Emma was the only gassy living being in our household last night).

After dinner, we watched American Idol.  Let me just state that I was less than pleased because the mean boy who kicked Jacee out of his group during Hollywood week sang a Lionel Richie song!  Mean people shouldn’t be allowed to sing “Hello”, and if I ruled the world, I’d make that a rule.

Back on the subject of adapting recipes to suit everyone’s dietary needs/preferences/beliefs, I need your help!

I’m going to my in-law’s house for dinner next weekend, and my MIL is stressing out about what to make for dinner.  You see, the guest list includes a vegetarian, a lactose intolerant Lionel Richie fan, and southern food loving men.

Can you guess which one I am? 😉

Michael’s cousin Dawn (who is the vegetarian on the guest list) and I offered to come up with something that everyone can eat.  One of the ideas that we came up with was a taco bar with meat, cheese, and veggie choices.  Another option is lots of vegetables (without cheese), some kind of meat, and a meatless patty for Dawn.

Can anyone offer any other suggestions?  I’d love to hear them all!

Have a wonderful wonderful day!

10 Comments
  1. February 24, 2011 9:16 AM

    The taco idea is great! You could also do a bean soup that is vegan but you could put out toppings like cheese, sour cream/Greek yogurt, chopped bacon, green onion, etc. You could also do a sandwich/panini making station with all kinds of things. Vegan bread (like Ezekiel or Great Harvest Bread), cheese, hummus, guac, lots of veggies, shaved turkey or ham. A lot of those things can be bought pre-made so your mom isn’t overwhelmed. Spaghetti + salad with a the meat separate from the sauce and any cheese separate too is another good option. Nutritional Yeast is an excellent substitute for Parmesan cheese and the vegetarian could easily crumble some quickly toasted o sauteed tempeh into their marinara sauce.

    • February 24, 2011 9:22 AM

      You are awesome! I absolutely love the bean soup idea which I never would have thought of on my own. And I cannot believe that I forgot about Great Harvest! Spaghetti might be a winner because it is easy. Thanks so much for your suggestions! 🙂

  2. February 24, 2011 1:12 PM

    Your blog has officially made me starving. I can’t think of anything and I’m going to blame you, everything I love has cheese on it=) But some non cheesy italian fare would work! I love pasta with lots of veggies, salad, and bread=)

    • February 24, 2011 1:15 PM

      I’m sorry for making you hungry! 🙂 Sending one cheesey quesadilla your way. 😉 I think that pasta is a great option. It seems to be a universal favorite!

  3. February 24, 2011 2:09 PM

    We were mad that the mean boy got to stay!! I mean, okay, he can sing–BUT he’s mean! haha

    • February 24, 2011 2:14 PM

      He is mean and the fact the he can sing makes it worse! I want him to be bad! Poor Michael. As soon as I heard that dude sing the word “hello” I flipped out! Haha. 🙂

  4. February 24, 2011 3:51 PM

    Omgosh I totally wanted to watch American Idol last night but the sound on the treadmill TV was broken, so I missed all of the singing 😦

    I like the taco and pasta ideas… could you do pizza? You could probably make some good pizzas even without any cheese!

  5. February 24, 2011 7:12 PM

    Having a taco bar with all sorts of add-ins sounds good and everyone can put their own toppings.

    I make moroccan couscous for dinner parties, vegetarians can have it as their main dish and meat-eaters can eat is as a side dish. Here’s the link to the recipe if you are interested >

    http://healthycoconut.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/moroccan-couscous/

    • February 24, 2011 8:07 PM

      Your couscous looks amazing!! It is a definite possibility for next Friday, but regardless, I am going to make it for myself! 🙂

Comments are closed.

