Skip to content

Cinnamon Spiced Granola

February 21, 2011

Yesterday afternoon, I decided to make granola.

It was the best decision I made all day.

It made the house smell amazing, and as you all know, I have a keen sense of smell just like a dog (which is often a bad thing unfortunately).

Even better than the aroma, the recipe involves cinnamon, my obsession and my love.

Cinnamon Spiced Granola

(Adapted from here)

Ingredients
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup chopped cashews
1 cup chopped almonds
1 TB cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup melted coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup shredded coconut


Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.  Place oats, nuts, and spices into a medium-sized bowl.  Mix well.  Add the syrup, melted coconut oil and vanilla to the oat mixture.  Add shredded coconut and toss again.  Spread mixture onto a large cookie sheet and place in the oven.  Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, turning occasionally with a spatula.  Remove from oven and let cool completely before transferring to a glass jar. This makes about 5 cups of granola.

After patiently waiting on the batch to cool, I sprinkled some granola on top of a green smoothie (made with almond milk, 1/2 medium frozen banana, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder, and a bunch of kale).

Later we brought a jar over to my parent’s house for my cute little mom to enjoy.

Last night, Michael and I broke tradition.

His stomach bug had gotten the best of him, so instead of our usual Sunday night steak, wine, and popcorn, I made a salmon salad for myself utilizing some leftovers from my dad’s party.  I also made homemade chicken soup for Michael.

I was quite proud of myself because he raved about my soup. I’m thinking about going into the soup business now.

Erin’s Homemade Chicken Soup- It Won’t Make a Nauseated Person Puke

As I’ve mentioned a whole bunch, I resigned from my job a few weeks ago, and this is officially my last week there!  I’m so excited that I can hardly stand it.

What are you excited about lately?  Are you looking forward to anything in particular?

Have a wonderful Monday everyone!

5 Comments
  1. February 21, 2011 4:07 PM

    Yum, I’ve never made granola but it always looks and sounds so good!

    I’m sorry to hear Michael’s sick- hope he gets better quickly!

    • February 21, 2011 4:26 PM

      It is really good and so simple. Definitely give it a try! And thanks for the well wishes to Michael. He still feels rough and unfortunately, I am now under the weather myself. 😦

  2. quirkyrunner permalink
    February 21, 2011 11:06 PM

    mmmmm! your granola looks yummy! I’m sorry to hear you feel under the weather. Feel better!

    • February 22, 2011 7:17 AM

      Thanks so much! Back at work today. I figured that I could make it through 4 more days. 🙂

  3. March 7, 2011 7:46 PM

    Mm! This looks fabulous! I should be getting some coconut oil in the mail soon – I’ll have to try this! 🙂

Comments are closed.

