Skip to content

Wine and Kettlebells

February 19, 2011

Happy Saturday!

I hope that the weekend is off to a great start for all.  Michael and I had a wonderful time at Fleming’s and the Ritz last night.

Dinner was SO good, and we shared some kind of ridiculously gooey chocolate walnut pie for desert.  Later we had some wine at a bar in the hotel.  It overlooked the city, and it was really neat to do some people watching.

I’ll be honest- my alcohol tolerance is not high, so this morning, I feel a little rough!

I basically dragged Michael out of bed early, so we could check out and have breakfast.

We were going to stop off at Panera but decided to go there tomorrow. My hungover body wanted homemade oatmeal this morning, and I didn’t put up a fight.

This consisted of oatmeal, chia seeds, cinnamon, mango chunks, banana, strawberry, and Trader Joe’s strawberry preserves.

I’m so excited because we bought a new bed last weekend, and it is being delivered this morning.  Plus, tonight is my dad’s party!

Before I sign off, I’d like to leave you with another workout DVD review!

I was really excited when Jillian Michaels: Shred-It With Weights arrived from Netflix recently.

(Source)

And I was really disappointed after I did the workout.

Like her 30 Day Shred workout, there are 3 circuits in Shred It- though it is sometimes difficult to tell where they begin and end.  In Shred-It, you’re using weights throughout the entire workout.  Expect lots of hip action.

Since it was my first time doing this workout, I started off with level one.  Honestly, it wasn’t really the challenge I was hoping it would be.  To be fair, Jillian does the moves with a kettlebell, and since I do not have one, I had to follow the beginner modifications.

I also hit myself in the leg several times with the weights which wasn’t any fun.

(Source)

And speaking of getting hurt, my main issue with this DVD is Jillian’s instruction and attention to proper form.  Someone could easily suffer an injury from some of the moves (especially clumsy people such as myself).

After a less than stellar impression of level one, I tried level two.  Much better.  In fact, I was begging for mercy after the first move!

(Source)

Even though level two was more challenging, I’m really glad that I didn’t actually purchase this DVD.  Maybe this type of workout just isn’t for me.  Maybe I need a kettlebell.  Maybe I never could get comfortable with the fact that some of the moves seemed dangerous (such as the “dive” exercise in level two).

But the bottom line for me is that it just wasn’t fun.  As far as I am concerned, a workout should be fun.  While it should also be challenging , it shouldn’t feel like a chore or a punishment.

Sorry, Jillian.  I’m just not feelin’ this one.

Have you ever tried this workout?  If so, what are your thoughts? Are you a fan of Jillian’s other workouts?

I hope that you have a wonderful day and that the weather is as beautiful where you are as it is here today!

7 Comments
  1. February 19, 2011 11:59 AM

    I’ve used this workout a few times (I have only done level one) I use a 10lb kettlebell and it really worked my legs, I think I’ll be moving up to 15lbs soon. I have to agree with you that some of the moves seem unsafe though – like snatches. Im not even attempting to do those!

    • February 19, 2011 1:28 PM

      I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who found some of the exercises to be unsafe! Good to know that having a kettlebell makes for a good workout though. We’ll see…maybe I’ll give it a second chance in the future. 😉

  2. February 19, 2011 8:49 PM

    I haven’t tried this DVD but have heard about the controversy regarding her form. I’m a big fan of the 30 Day Shred and her Yoga Meltdown. Enjoy the party tonight! 🙂

    • February 20, 2011 12:42 PM

      I love 30 Day Shred too (especially when I’m pressed for time) and Yoga Meltdown is great. It is so funny to see her calm and relaxed in that one! It must have been a challenge for her not to yell. 🙂

  3. February 19, 2011 10:02 PM

    I’ve only tried the original Shred a couple times… I’m not much of a video exerciser, but I did think that one was fine. I probably won’t be trying this one now 🙂

  4. February 20, 2011 9:05 PM

    I loved the 30-day Shred video, but I’ve heard TERRIBLE things about Jillian’s kettlebell workout! I read somewhere that she doesn’t do the moves correctly, and that you could easily injure yourself– so it sounds like your first impression of the DVD is spot-on!

    I also liked her Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism workout! It’s like Insanity (if you’ve ever tried that) but a little more manageable…

    Love the idea of renting workout DVD’s on Netflix!! That’s genius!!

    • February 20, 2011 9:15 PM

      The only problem with the Netflix DVDs is that sometimes they skip because they are scratched. I was so disappointed this week when a new Jari Love DVD came in the mail and kept freezing on me. At least , it doesn’t happen often, and you can report the problem to Netflix. 🙂

Comments are closed.

