Skip to content

Puttin’ on the Ritz

February 18, 2011

I’m a lucky girl.  Earlier in the week, my co-workers took me to Kabuto and yesterday they took me to The Cheesecake Factory.  I seriously adore the bread there. Is it honey oat?  Whatever it is, I like it A LOT!

Last night, I made spaghetti squash for me and a calzone for my hubby.

Spaghetti squash is one of my favorite foods to make because not only is it easy and tasty, but it makes a ton of leftovers!

I topped it with mushrooms, onion, Trader Joe’s marinara sauce, Garlic Gold nuggets, and nutritional yeast.   I also had a side salad.

Michael’s calzone was also super simple to make.

I simply rolled out some pre-made dough and topped one half with Trader Joe’s turkey meatballs, turkey pepperoni, ricotta cheese, marinara sauce, and mozzarella cheese.  Then I folded the other half over the top and pressed to close.  I whisked an egg and brushed it over the top of the dough, sprinkled it with Garlic Gold nuggets and sea salt, and baked it in the oven for 14 minutes at 400 F.

These are so versatile.  I also love stuffing them with veggies (especially broccoli).

After I finish up this bowl of butterscotch cookie oatmeal, I’m knocking out the grocery shopping for the week (expect some new recipes from my Trader Joe’s cookbook in a few days) and then I’m meeting my mother at the party store.  We’ve been planning a surprise for my dad for weeks now, and tomorrow night is the big event.  Finally!

My Valentine’s gift from Michael was that we’re going to Fleming’s tonight (one of my favorite restaurants) and then we’re staying uptown at The Ritz.  I cannot wait!

What are your plans for the weekend?

Have a great Friday!

4 Comments
  1. February 18, 2011 8:26 AM

    Flemings is awesome! How sweet he got a room too! Have so much fun!!!

    Cheesecake does have amazing bread, and I love their salads there too : )

    Hope the surprise party tomorrow night for your dad is wonderful too! I bet he will be very happy!

    Have a great day! xo

    • February 18, 2011 8:30 AM

      Thanks! I’ll need a vino detox by the end of the weekend! 🙂 Hope you have a great day too!

  2. February 18, 2011 9:27 AM

    Sounds like some great weekend plans! I’m visiting family for the weekend, so I’ll be doing lots of relaxing 🙂

Comments are closed.

