Skip to content

Even Crazy People Need to Eat

February 17, 2011

Hi hi hi!

And in case you didn’t get that…hi!

I am not sure what my deal is today.  I think that I might possibly be going crazy.  These past few days at work have been insane.  Thank goodness I’m in the home stretch (and I’m off tomorrow).

Anyway, last night I just wanted to relax.  I wanted to be a lazy, pajamas wearing, stinky, little slob.  So, I thought that a lightened up Sloppy Joe would be quite appropriate.

I also decided to rename them to Sloppy Janes, since I’m a girl and all.

Joe shouldn’t be the only one who is allowed to be sloppy.

Sloppy Janes

(Adapted from here)

Ingredients
* 12 ounces 90%-lean ground beef (You can also use ground turkey or Boca ground crumbles if you don’t eat meat)
* 1 large onion, finely diced
* 2 cups finely chopped cremini mushrooms, (about 4 ounces)
* 1 can diced tomatoes
* 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
* 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
* Dash of Worchestershire sauce
* 1/4 cup chili sauce
* 1/4 cup ketchup (I used Annie’s)
* 8 hamburger buns, toasted if desired

Crumble beef into a large nonstick skillet; cook over medium heat until it starts to sizzle, about 1 minute. Add onion and mushrooms and cook, stirring occasionally, breaking up the meat with a wooden spoon, until the vegetables are soft and the moisture has evaporated, 8 to 10 minutes.


Add tomatoes and flour; stir to combine. Stir in water, vinegar, chili sauce and ketchup and bring to a simmer, stirring often. Reduce heat to a low simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, until the sauce is thickened and the onion is very tender, 8 to 10 minutes. Serve warm on buns.

This recipe makes a ton, so it is great for leftovers.  As you know, I am a fan of leftovers.

Sometimes a girl just needs to be a Sloppy Jane and listen to her body.  I had plans for the night originally, but my body wanted to chill out and unwind.  I even skipped my usual daily workout.

I strongly believe that people should listen to their bodies.  Our bodies let us know what they need, but unfortunately, life moves so fast that we often ignore what they’re saying. 

What are your thoughts?  Do you listen to your body when it tells you that it needs to rest, eat more/less, sleep, etc?

Well, my body just told me that it wants some hot chocolate, so I guess that I’d better listen! 😉

Have a great day!

PS- You can now check me out on Twitter!

6 Comments
  1. February 17, 2011 8:33 AM

    Ooooooooh sloppy janes! I would use the boca crumbles for mine for sure ; ) the boys would use beef! Meaty men! lol!

    Hope you have a great day!!!!!! xoxo

    • February 17, 2011 8:46 AM

      Yeah and if you serve them to the boys…don’t call them Sloppy Janes! 🙂 Hope you have a great day too!

  2. February 17, 2011 2:11 PM

    Haha love the sloppy Janes!

    Good for you for listening to your body… I try to do the same. This morning, I was just too tired to do a workout and pack for the weekend, so I skipped the workout.

    PS- I’m going to follow you on Twitter!

  3. February 17, 2011 2:38 PM

    What a great idea to make these with Boca Crumbles!! Yum! 🙂

    • February 17, 2011 2:40 PM

      I love Boca Crumbles so much. I’ve heard that they are difficult to find in some areas of the US though. Luckily, I’ve never had that problem (knock on wood!).

Comments are closed.

