Skip to content

Cupcake Crazy

February 13, 2011

Hello!!

As I mentioned, I taught a kid’s cooking class at Earth Fare yesterday morning.

We made cupcakes with healthier ingredients that didn’t include artificial flavoring, high fructose corn syrup, and gunk that no human can pronounce.

It was really great interacting with parents who care so much about teaching their children how to eat healthfully, and the kids were all so excited and super sweet!

Before the class, I decorated two cupcakes for Michael and me.

How cute is the apron that my mother gave to me for Valentine’s Day?  It was so appropriate! (Another random fact about me- I love anything with cupcakes on it!)

Valentine’s Cupcakes

Ingredients (Makes 16 cupcakes)
1/2 cup Earth Balance butter
1/2 cup organic sugar
2 eggs, organic (lightly beaten)
1 cup self-rising flour
1 cup unsweetened coconut shavings

For the frosting:
1 1/4 cups organic confectioners’ sugar
2 tbsp almond milk

Prevent oven to 375 F and place paper cups into muffin pans.  Place the butter and sugar in a large bowl and mix together until pale and fluffy.  Gradually add eggs.  Fold flour in lightly and evening using a metal spoon.  Divide the mixture among the muffin cups and baked in the oven for about 15-20 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack.

For the frosting, sift the confectioners’ sugar into a bowl and stir in just enough milk to mix to a smooth paste.  Spread frosting over cupcakes and sprinkle with unsweetened coconut shavings.  Top with candy of your choice.  Serve to your sweetheart!

After a successful class, I shopped the store and used my coupons to score a free dinner and a free box of chocolates.  Love it!

How did you spend your Saturday?

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

5 Comments
  1. February 13, 2011 4:42 PM

    these are SO SO cute!!

  2. February 13, 2011 7:03 PM

    These look so good! I spent my Saturday shopping, going out to dinner, and relaxing! 🙂

  3. February 13, 2011 7:17 PM

    Yum! What a beautiful and healthy looking cup cake!

    I have never thought to put milk with the sugar to make a frosting…I guess it more like a glaze this way?

    I need a cupcake now!

    xxoo

    • February 14, 2011 7:18 AM

      Using milk definitely turns it into more of a glaze. 🙂 I prefer using milk rather than water. I especially like using unsweetened vanilla almond milk. It tastes really good!

Comments are closed.

