Skip to content

Oats All Around

February 11, 2011

Hey there!  I hope that you’re doing the Friday dance (which is different from the Potty Dance).

Last night, we had General Tsao Chicken again.  Homemade Chinese food is so good and so much healthier than takeout!

I served Michael’s with brown rice and mine without rice and a double helping of veggies.

We also had edamame with sea salt.  So good!

Today’s breakfast was a lovely bowl of oatmeal topped with strawberries, banana, and a blob of organic strawberry preserves.

Since I have the day off, my mom and I are meeting up for lunch.  I decided to make her a loaf of my Honey Oat Bread…just because I love my momma.

I love making quick bread because as the name implies… it is quick.

Honey Oat Bread

(Adapted slightly from here)

Ingredients
2 tablespoons plus 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats, or quick-cooking (not instant) oats, divided
2 1/3 cups whole-wheat flour, or white whole-wheat flour
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
8 ounces low-fat plain yogurt
1 large egg
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup clover honey, or other mild honey
3/4 cup almond milk

Position rack in middle of oven; preheat to 375°F. Generously coat a 9-by-5-inch (or similar size) loaf pan with cooking spray. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon oats in the pan. Tip the pan back and forth to coat the sides and bottom with oats.

Thoroughly stir together whole-wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Using a fork, beat the remaining 1 cup oats, yogurt, egg, applesauce and honey in a medium bowl until well blended. Stir in milk. Gently stir the yogurt mixture into the flour mixture just until thoroughly incorporated but not overmixed (excess mixing can cause toughening). Immediately scrape the batter into the pan, spreading evenly to the edges. Sprinkle the remaining 1 tablespoon oats over the top.

Bake the loaf until well browned on top and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 40 to 50 minutes. (It’s normal for the top to crack.) Let stand in the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Run a table knife around and under the loaf to loosen it and turn it out onto the rack. Let cool until barely warm, about 45 minutes.

Now that I have successfully added oats to everything that I have made today (well, except for my coffee, of course), I am off to get ready for some mother/daughter time.

I feel so lucky to live near my family (most of the time). How close do you live to your family members?  Do you consider it to be a good or bad thing?

8 Comments
  1. February 11, 2011 9:35 AM

    I don’t live anywhere near my family and I consider it a really bad thing. I miss then like crazy. I live in AZ and they all live in Minnesota, and my Husband’s parents live in Montana so we are far from everyone.

    • February 11, 2011 10:08 AM

      I used to be in that situation, and it was really rough. 😦 It made me appreciate the times that I did see them even more…but still…it wasn’t fun.

  2. February 11, 2011 10:34 AM

    oh gosh, i love at-home chinese food! and the leftovers too! that bread looks really good.

  3. Michelle permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:11 AM

    For anyone that doesn’t have easy access to a Trader Joe’s (such as myself!), I have a great General Tso’s recipe that it is a regular staple on my menu. It’s from Weight Watchers but tastes delicious and can be adapted to add veggies (I also use brown rice instead of white). Enjoy!

    Ingredients

    3/4 cup(s) canned chicken broth, reduced-sodium
    1 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
    2 Tbsp sugar
    2 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
    1 Tbsp white wine vinegar
    1/2 tsp ground ginger
    2 tsp peanut oil
    2 medium scallion(s), chopped
    2 clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s), minced
    1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, or 1 dried chili pepper, minced
    1 pound(s) uncooked boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 2-inch pieces
    2 cup(s) cooked white rice, kept hot

    Instructions
    In a medium bowl, whisk together broth, cornstarch, sugar, soy sauce, vinegar and ginger; set aside.

    Heat oil in a wok or large skillet over medium-high heat. Add scallions, garlic and red pepper flakes; cook, stirring frequently, 2 minutes. Add chicken; sauté until browned all over, about 5 minutes.

    Add reserved sauce to pan and simmer until sauce thickens and chicken is cooked through, about 3 minutes.

    Serve chicken and sauce over rice. Yields about 1 cup chicken with sauce and 1/2 cup rice per serving.

  4. Michelle permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:13 AM

    Also, Er – do you buy those veggies in a pre-cut mixed bag? I’m looking for an easy veggie addition like that (I usually buy everything fresh individually but it can be too expensive and time consuming to get all that variety!)

    • February 11, 2011 1:27 PM

      Thanks so much for posting the recipe! You rock! Regarding the veggies, I buy, wash, chop, and cook them myself! It is more economical (most of the time) than buying the bags. Whenever I’ve used frozen veggies in the past as an option, they just don’t taste as fresh. And Michael could always tell! LOL.

  5. February 11, 2011 1:37 PM

    I live about 45 min. to an hour away now that I have my own apartment at school. I feel like it’s a great thing because it’s close enough but far enough away also! I was going crazy living at home. I do live about 12 hours away from my Dad since he’s in the army, I’m used to it by now but…ya know. Your homemade chinese takeout looks amazing!

  6. February 11, 2011 2:47 PM

    honey oat bread sounds SO GOOD!! i can taste the sweetness!! i LOVE my fam- i want to stay close to them as long as i can… until i go off and live bymyself- eek!

Comments are closed.

