Skip to content

My Little Chickpeas

February 8, 2011

Good morning!

Thanks for the cereal suggestions yesterday.  I’m excited to try some of them soon!

My final few weeks at work have been very busy so far (to put it mildly), so I knew that a protein packed breakfast was in order this morning.

When I was a child, my dad called these “Eggs That Go Squirt” because when you bite into them, the yolk goes everywhere.  I loaded mine up with tomato and mushrooms.

Michael had a business dinner last night, and I was feeling lazy.  Of course, as soon as I walked into the house, Emma stared me down until I tossed some food into her bowl.

That was enough cooking for me.  I even almost skipped my workout but decided to give 30 Day Shred a go. And while Jillian was yelling at me, these little buggers were baking in the oven.

I kind of just threw a bunch of ingredients together and the result was crunchy little nuggets of yumminess.

I ate half the pan before throwing a bunch into a salad for some crunch.   It wasn’t the most elaborate dinner, but it made my belly happy.

Spiced Chickpeas

Ingredients
1 can (15 ounces) chickpeas
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon honey
1 teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 450°F.  Wash and dry chickpeas.  Toss with oil, honey, allspice, salt and cinnamon. Spread onto a baking sheet and bake until browned and crunchy- approximately 30 minutes.  Let cool for  few minutes and eat e’m all up!

Aren’t chickpeas adorable?  I love those little buggers.  Even the name is cute.  I think that “my little chickpea” will be Michael’s new nickname.

(Random fact about me- I am notorious for giving people nicknames… whether they like them or not!)

Do you have any nicknames?  Some of mine are Er (pronounced “air”), Ariel (from my dad), Eats (before I got married, those were my initials!), and Boo (that one comes from Michael).

Have a great day, chickpeas!

7 Comments
  1. February 8, 2011 12:37 PM

    ahhhhhhh the chickpeas look amazing! Another blogger made ones with peanut flour coating that she posted today, its a sign I need to go buy chickpeas and make your recipe and hers!

    My nicknames, well when I was younger it was kucky katie , real sweet huh?! lol! My nickname my fiance gave me is Snuggs!

    Have a great day love! xo

    • February 8, 2011 12:40 PM

      It sounds like a sign to me too! 🙂 Peanut flour coated chickpeas sound great. And your nicknames are adorable!

  2. February 8, 2011 1:21 PM

    Aw yay you added my button!! 🙂

    Those chickpeas look AWESOME!

  3. February 8, 2011 3:29 PM

    YUM!! so funny that we both did roasted chickpeas today! Great minds think alike! 🙂

  4. February 8, 2011 9:47 PM

    Those chickpeas look amazing!

  5. February 9, 2011 12:07 AM

    I love chickpeas but have never roasted them…that makes these a must try! My boyfriend calls me so many weird names. Pook, Lumpkin, and Bubs just to name a few. My stepdad used to tease me when I was younger and call me zip code…get it?

Comments are closed.

